< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2018: Team Preview - Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad looking for a top for finish in IPL 2018

Having retained 12 players (13 including the banned David Warner) from their 2017 squad, the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) come into this edition of the IPL with one of the strongest squads. They were champions back in 2016 and secured a playoffs spot last season and given their squad on paper, one can easily foresee another top four finish for them.

The acquisition of Wriddhiman Saha and Manish Pandey give them much needed stability to their batting order. Saha recently smashed a 20 ball hundred in a club cricket game and will be looking to replicate some of those heroics this time round. Shikhar Dhawan will probably have a new opening partner in Alex Hales or Kane Williamson, with the former set to end his long wait for an IPL debut. The absence of Warner no doubt is a big blow but they have more than good enough replacements in Hales and skipper Kane Williamson.

Sunrisers Hyderabad have a plethora of spin bowling all-rounders with the likes of Yusuf Pathan and Shakib al Hasan coming in from the Kolkata Knight Riders while Mohammed Nabi remains from last year’s squad. Deepak Hooda, another big hitting all-rounder would be competing with Pathan for the one spot.

The bowling rests in the golden hands of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who has been an indispensable asset for SRH. His bowling at the top and at the death has been top class and he will look to forge a strong partnership with Sandeep Sharma. Basil Thampi, who was another revelation in the last season, will be looking to repeat his performances this season. They also have in their ranks, Afghanistan’s spin sensation, Rashid Khan, who is an automatic pick in the playing eleven. Given their domestic bowling stocks, one does not see much of a chance for either of Billy Stanlake and Chris Jordan to break into the eleven.

Probable best XI – Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson (c), Alex Hales, Manish Pandey, Deepak Hooda, Shakib al Hasan, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Basil Thampi

IPL 2017 Position – Fourth place

IPL 2018 Prediction – The performances of the middle order batsmen will to decide the fate for SRH. From the looks of it, they are guaranteed a top four finish. 

© Cricket World 2018