< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: AB de Villiers scripts Bangalore win

AB de Villiers celebrates a hard-fought win
AB de Villiers celebrates a hard-fought win

AB de Villiers played a crucial role in Royal Challengers Bangalore's seven wicket win over Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League at the Dubai International Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

RR vs RCB – Match Highlights ©BCCI/IPL

After opting to bat, Rajasthan posted 177 for six in their 20 overs. They had a brisk start. Opener Robin Uthappa (41: 22b, 7x4 1x6) played a swift knock. Thereafter, captain Steve Smith played a crucial role in reviving the innings when he scored a 36 ball 57 with six boundaries and a six. Smith shared a 58 run fourth wicket stand with Jos Buttler (24). The innings received a proper finish thanks to Rahul Tewatia's unbeaten 19 off 11 balls. The best bowlers for Bangalore were Chris Morris (4-26) and Yuzvendra Chahal (2-34).

The chase for Bangalore was difficult. Opener Devdutt Padikkal (35: 37b, 2x4) shared a crucial 79 run second wicket stand with skipper Virat Kohli (43: 32b, 1x4, 2x6). The chase was struggling for a while, till AB de Villiers found his voice again.

AB struck an unbeaten 55 off 22 balls with a boundary and six sixes. AB and Gurkeerat Singh shared an unbroken 77 run fourth wicket stand to seal the win. AB took particular liking for Jaydev Unadkat as he smashed him for 29 runs in the 19th over to change the course of the match. In the end Bangalore finished on 179 for three in 19.4 overs.

Match Summary - Rajasthan Royals v Royal Challengers Bangalore, 33rd Match, Indian Premier League

Rajasthan Royals 177-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-50 (Ben Stokes-5.4 ov), 2-69 (Robin Uthappa-7.4 ov), 3-69 (Sanju Samson-7.5 ov), 4-127 (Jos Buttler-15.3 ov), 5-173 (Steven Smith-19.2 ov), 6-177 (Jofra Archer-19.6 ov)

Royal Challengers Bangalore 179-3 (19.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Aaron Finch-3.3 ov), 2-102 (Devdutt Padikkal-12.6 ov), 3-102 (Virat Kohli-13.1 ov)

Result - Royal Challengers Bangalore won by seven wickets


Playing XI
Royal Challengers Bangalore: Devdutt Padikkal, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers (wicket-keeper), Gurkeerat Singh, Chris Morris, Washington Sundar, Isuru Udana, Navdeep Saini, Shahbaz Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal

Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Ben Stokes, Steven Smith (captain), Sanju Samson, Robin Uthappa, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat, Kartik Tyagi