< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: ABD classic fires RCB to huge win

AB de Villiers' heroics helped Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Kolkata Knight Riders comprehensively by 82 runs in the Indian Premier League (IPL) on Monday night at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

After opting to bat, Royal Challengers Bangalore posted 194 for two in their 20 overs. Aaron Finch (47: 37b, 4x4, 1x6) and Devdutt Padikkal (32: 23b, 4x4, 1x6) shared a 67 run opening stand. Later, AB de Villiers smashed Kolkata attack with an unbeaten 73 off just 33 bals with five boundaries and six sixes. He shared a 100 run unbroken stand with captain Virat Kohli (33 n.o.: 28b, 1x4). Kolkata's limited attack struggled to contain the flow of runs. Only Prasidh Krishna and Andre Russell could pick up a wicket apiece.

The chase for Kolkata never took off as they lost wickets at regular intervals. Only Shubman Gill (34) held the innings together as Kolkata lost control of the chase. The best bowlers for Bangalore were Chris Morris (2-17) and Washington Sundar (2-20).

Match Summary - Royal Challengers Bangalore v Kolkata Knight Riders, 28th Match, Indian Premier League

Royal Challengers Bangalore 194-2 (20)

Fall of wickets: 1-67 (Devdutt Padikkal-7.4 ov), 2-94 (Aaron Finch-12.2 ov)

Kolkata Knight Riders 112-9 (20)

Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Tom Banton-3.6 ov), 2-51 (Nitish Rana-7.6 ov), 3-55 (Shubman Gill-9.3 ov), 4-62 (Dinesh Karthik-10.3 ov), 5-64 (Eoin Morgan-11.1 ov), 6-85 (Andre Russell-13.5 ov), 7-89 (Pat Cummins-14.5 ov), 8-99 (Rahul Tripathi-16.6 ov), 9-108 (Kamlesh Nagarkoti-18.6 ov)


Playing XIs

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Devdutt Padikkal, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers (wicket-keeper), Chris Morris, Washington Sundar, Shivam Dube, Isuru Udana, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj

Kolkata Knight Riders: Rahul Tripathi, Shubman Gill, Tom Banton, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan, Dinesh Karthik (captain & wicket-keeper), Andre Russell, Pat Cummins, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Prasidh Krishna, Varun Chakravarthy

©Cricket World 2020