< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Bangalore hold their nerve in Super Over

Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers celebrate the win
Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers celebrate the win

Royal Challengers Bangalore scripted a win in the super over over Mumbai Indians to register their second triumph of the Indian Premier League (IPL) on Monday evening at the Dubai International Stadium.

Asked to bat, Royal Challengers Bangalore posted a massive 201 for three. Their openers Aaron Finch (52: 35b, 7x4, 1x6) and Devdutt Padikkal (54: 40b, 5x4, 2x6) shared a 81 run opening stand. Captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore Virat Kohli once again failed, scoring 3 off 11 balls. Later, AB de Villiers struck at will scoring an unbeaten 55 off just 24 balls with four boundaries and four sixes. He shared a 62 run fourth wicket stand with Shivam Dube (27 n.o.: 10b, 1x4, 3x6). For Mumbai Indians, Trent Boult (2-34) was the most successful bowler.

In the chase, Mumbai was struggling at 78 for four that was when Ishan Kishan (99: 58b, 2x4, 9x6) teamed up with Kieron Pollard (60 n.o.: 24b, 3X4, 5X6). Both Pollard and Kishan 119 runs to bring Mumbai back in the match. But the match ended in a tie regular time. For Bangalore Isuru Udana with two for forty five was the most successul bowler.

In the second super over of the tournament at Dubai International Stadium, Mumbai lost to Bangalore. A superb effort by Kishan and Pollard went in vain. Mumbai made just seven in the super over and Bangalore won quite easily in the end.

Match Summary - Mumbai Indians v Royal Challengers Bangalore, 10th Match, Indian Premier League

Royal Challengers Bangalore 201-3 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-81 (Aaron Finch-8.6 ov), 2-92 (Virat Kohli-12.2 ov), 3-154 (Devdutt Padikkal-17.1 ov)

Mumbai Indians 201-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Rohit Sharma-1.4 ov), 2-16 (Suryakumar Yadav-2.2 ov), 3-39 (Quinton de Kock-6.4 ov), 4-78 (Hardik Pandya-11.2 ov), 5-197 (Ishan Kishan-19.5 ov)

Result - Royal Challengers Bangalore won in Super Over
(Match ended in a tie)


Playing XI
Mumbai Indians: Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Rohit Sharma (captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Aaron Finch, Devdutt Padikkal, Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers (wicket-keeper), Gurkeerat Singh, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Isuru Udana, Yuzvendra Chahal, Adam Zampa, Navdeep Saini