< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Buttler, bowlers script Rajasthan win

Rajasthan Royals celebrate yet again
Rajasthan Royals celebrate yet again

Rajasthan Royals registered a seven wicket win over Chennai Super Kings to gain two crucial points in the Indian Premier League, on Monday night at the Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

After opting to bat, Chennai posted a mediocre 125 for five in their 20 overs. They struggled to get going from the start. Makeshift opener Sam Curran (22) tried to hold the innings together. Thereafter, there was no worthwhile contribution. Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni (28) and Ravindra Jadeja (35 n.o.: 30b, 4x4) added 51 runs for the fifth wicket to give some respectability to Chennai. For Rajasthan the most impressive bowlers were Kartik Tyagi (1-35), Shreyas Gopal (1-14) and Rahul Tewatia (1-18).

In their chase, Rajasthan lost early wickets. But the chase was revived by skipper Steve Smith (26 n.o.: 34b, 2x4) who added an unbeaten 98 for the fourth wicket with Jos Buttler (70 n.o.: 48b, 7x4, 2x6). That was enough to chase down the target in 17.3 overs to finish at 126 for three. The most impressive bowler for Chennai was Deepak Chahar (2-18).

Match Summary - Chennai Super Kings v Rajasthan Royals, 37th Match, Indian Premier League

Chennai Super Kings 125-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Faf du Plessis-2.6 ov), 2-26 (Shane Watson-3.6 ov), 3-53 (Sam Curran-8.2 ov), 4-56 (Ambati Rayudu-9.6 ov), 5-107 (MS Dhoni-17.4 ov)

Rajasthan Royals 126-3 (17.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-26 (Ben Stokes-2.6 ov), 2-28 (Robin Uthappa-3.2 ov), 3-28 (Sanju Samson-4.3 ov)

Result - Rajasthan Royals won by seven wickets


Playing XI

Chennai Super Kings: Faf du Plessis, Sam Curran, Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Kedar Jadhav, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Piyush Chawla, Josh Hazlewood

Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler, Robin Uthappa, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Steven Smith (captain), Ben Stokes Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Ankit Rajpoot, Kartik Tyagi