< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Chahal, Saini script famous win for RCB

Sunrisers Hyderabad's Vijay Shankar bowled YS Chahal for 0
Sunrisers Hyderabad's Vijay Shankar bowled YS Chahal for 0

Fanastic bowling by Yuzvendra Chahal and Navdeep Saini led Royal Challengers Bangalore to a fine 10-run win over Sunrisers Hyderabad in their opening clash of the Indian Premier League 2020 at the Dubai International Stadium.


Asked to bat, Royal Challengers Bangalore posted 163 for five in their allotted 20 overs. The star for Bangalore was debutant opener Devdutt Padikkal who struck a 42 ball 56 with eight boundaries. He shared a 90 run opening stand with Aaron Finch (29). There was a mini collapse thereafter, but it required the genius of AB de Villiers (51: 30b, 4x4, 2x6) to finish the innings on a high. None of the Hyderabad bowlers managed to create any consistent pressure throughout the innings.

The chase for Hyderabad was going well till Jonny Bairstow and Manish Pandey were batting. They added 71 runs for the second wicket. Manish Pandey (34: 33b, 3x4, 1x6) and Jonny Bairstow (61: 43b, 6x4, 2x6) were holding the innings together. But thereafter Hyderabad suffered a collapse. Pandey fell and thereafter Bairstow's dismissal triggered a collapse. Some suicidal running resulted in Rashid Khan injury after having earlier seen Mitchell Marsh get injured. In the end, Hyderabad lost by 10 runs as they were bowled out for 153 in 19.4 overs.

The key wicket-takers for Bangalore were Navdeep Saini (2-25), Yuzvendra Chahal (3-18) and Shivam Dube (2-15).

Match Summary - Royal Challengers Bangalore v Sunrisers Hyderabad, 3rd Match, Indian Premier League

Royal Challengers Bangalore 163-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-90 (Devdutt Padikkal-10.6 ov), 2-90 (Aaron Finch-11.1 ov), 3-123 (Virat Kohli-15.5 ov), 4-162 (AB de Villiers-19.3 ov), 5-163 (Shivam Dube-19.6 ov)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 153 (19.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (David Warner-1.4 ov), 2-89 (Manish Pandey-11.6 ov), 3-121 (Jonny Bairstow-15.2 ov), 4-121 (Vijay Shankar-15.3 ov), 5-129 (Priyam Garg-16.3 ov), 6-135 (Abhishek Sharma-16.6 ov), 7-141 (Bhuvneshwar Kumar-17.4 ov), 8-142 (Rashid Khan-17.6 ov), 9-143 (Mitchell Marsh-18.2 ov), 10-153 (Sandeep Sharma-19.4 ov)

Result - Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 10 rus


Playing XI

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Jonny Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Vijay Shankar, Priyam Garg, Abhishek Sharma, Mitchell Marsh, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Sandeep Sharma

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Aaron Finch, Devdutt Padikkal, Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers, Josh Philippe (wicket-keeper), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Dale Steyn, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal

©Cricket World 2020