< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Chennai back to winning ways

MS Dhoni celebrates the win
MS Dhoni celebrates the win

Chennai Super Kings registered an impressive 20 run win over Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League at the Dubai International Stadium on Tuesday night.

After opting to bat, Chennai posted 167 for six in their 20 overs. The key performers were Sam Curran (31) promoted to open, thereafter Shane Watson (42: 38b, 1x4, 3x6) and Ambati Rayudu (41: 34b, 3x4, 2x6) took over. Watson and Rayudu shared a 81 run third wicket stand. Towards the end, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (21) and Ravindra Jadeja (25 not out) provided the perfect finish. For Hyderabad the successful bowlers were Sandeep Sharma (2-19), T Natarajan (2-41) and Khaleel Ahmed (2-45).

The chase for Hyderabad never took off. Opener Jonny Bairstow (23) tried to hold the innings together. But it was then left to Kane Williamson (57: 39b, 7x4) to revive the chase. However no support came through for Williamson from any of the younger batsmen and the chase was over. In the end Hyderabad ended at 147 for eight in their 20 overs. The best bowlers for Chennai were Karn Sharma (2-37) and Dwayne Bravo (2-25).

Match Summary - Chennai Super Kings v Sunrisers Hyderabad, 29th Match, Indian Premier League

Chennai Super Kings 167-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Faf du Plessis-2.1 ov), 2-35 (Sam Curran-4.4 ov), 3-116 (Ambati Rayudu-15.2 ov), 4-120 (Shane Watson-16.2 ov), 5-152 (MS Dhoni-18.6 ov), 6-152 (Dwayne Bravo-19.1 ov)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 147-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (David Warner-3.3 ov), 2-27 (Manish Pandey-3.6 ov), 3-59 (Jonny Bairstow-9.5 ov), 4-99 (Priyam Garg-14.4 ov), 5-117 (Vijay Shankar-16.4 ov), 6-126 (Kane Williamson-17.2 ov), 7-146 (Rashid Khan-18.6 ov), 8-146 (Shahbaz Nadeem-19.3 ov)

Result - Chennai Super Kings won by 20 runs


Playing XI
Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Jonny Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Priyam Garg, Vijay Shankar, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sandeep Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed, T Natarajan

Chennai Super Kings: Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Dwayne Bravo, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Karn Sharma, Piyush Chawla