< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Comprehensive Delhi win puts them atop

Marcus Stoinis and Rishabh Pant shared a crucial stand
Marcus Stoinis and Rishabh Pant shared a crucial stand

Delhi Capitals registered a comprehensive 59 run win over Royal Challengers in the Indian Premier League at the Dubai International Stadium on Monday night.

Asked to bat Delhi Capitals posted 196 for four. The openers Prithvi Shaw (42: 23b, 5x4, 2x6) added 68 for the opening wicket with Shikhar Dhawan (32). Later, Rishabh Pant (37: 25b, 3x4, 2x6) added 89 runs for the fourth wicket with Marcus Stoinis (53 n.o.:26b, 6x4, 2x6). Stoinis struck some lusty blows towards the end. For Bangalore, Siraj with figures of two for 34 was the most successful bowler.

In their chase, Bangalore were never in the chase. They lost wickets at regular intervals. Only Virat Kohli (43: 39b, 2x4, 1x6) stood strong. The rest of the batting fell around him. They struggled against the pace of Kagiso Rabada (4-24) and Anrich Nortje (2-22). The left-arm spin of Axar Patel (2-18) was the other successful bowler.

Match Summary - Royal Challengers Bangalore v Delhi Capitals, 19th Match, Indian Premier League

Delhi Capitals 196-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-68 (Prithvi Shaw-6.4 ov), 2-82 (Shikhar Dhawan-9.4 ov), 3-90 (Shreyas Iyer-11.3 ov), 4-179 (Rishabh Pant-18.2 ov)

Royal Challengers Bangalore 137-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Devdutt Padikkal-2.6 ov), 2-27 (Aaron Finch-3.6 ov), 3-43 (AB de Villiers-5.5 ov), 4-75 (Moeen Ali-11.6 ov), 5-94 (Virat Kohli-13.3 ov), 6-115 (Washington Sundar-15.6 ov), 7-118 (Shivam Dube-17.1 ov), 8-119 (Isuru Udana-17.3 ov), 9-127 (Mohammed Siraj-18.6 ov)

Result - Delhi Capitals won by 59 runs


Playing XI
Royal Challengers Bangalore: Devdutt Padikkal, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers (wicket-keeper), Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Isuru Udana, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Harshal Patel