< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Curran, Chahar, Gaikwad star in Chennai win

Mahendra Singh Dhoni finally had some cheer
Mahendra Singh Dhoni finally had some cheer

Chennai Super Kings eked out an eight wicket win over Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Indian Premier League at the Dubai International Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

Devdutt Padikkal (22) and Aaron Finch (15) got Bangalore off to a decent start after they opted to bat. Later, skipper Virat Kohli (50: 43b, 1x4, 1x6) shared a 82 run third wicket stand with AB de Villiers (39: 36b, 4x4). That helped add value to the score. But thereafter, the rest of the batsmen struggled on a slow pitch. It did not help Bangalore much as they ended on a modest 145 for six in their 20 overs. Deepak Chahar (2-31) and Sam Curran (3-19) were the most successful bowlers for Chennai.

The chase for Chennai was fashioned by Ruturaj Gaikwad who struck an unbeaten 65 off 51 balls with four boundaries and three sixes. Gaikwad hit the winning six to seal the chase. He first added 46 for the opening wicket with Faf du Plessis (25). Later, Gaikwad added 67 runs for the second wicket with Ambati Rayudu (39). The match was sealed in 18.4 overs by Chennai as they ended on 150 for two. None of the Bangalore bowlers created any impact on the Chennai batsmen.

 Match Summary - Royal Challengers Bangalore v Chennai Super Kings, 44th Match, Indian Premier League

Royal Challengers Bangalore 145-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-31 (Aaron Finch-3.5 ov), 2-46 (Devdutt Padikkal-6.1 ov), 3-128 (AB de Villiers-17.3 ov), 4-132 (Moeen Ali-18.1 ov), 5-138 (Virat Kohli-18.6 ov), 6-139 (Chris Morris-19.3 ov)

Chennai Super Kings 150-2 (18.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-46 (Faf du Plessis-5.1 ov), 2-113 (Ambati Rayudu-13.3 ov)

Result - Chennai Super Kings won by eight wickets


Playing XIs

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Devdutt Padikkal, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers (wicket-keeper), Moeen Ali, Gurkeerat Singh, Chris Morris, Washington Sundar, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, N Jagadeesan, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Mitchell Santner, Deepak Chahar, Imran Tahir, Monu Kumar

©Cricket World 2020