< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Delhi make it to maiden IPL final

Marcus Stoinis bowled a terrific spell
Marcus Stoinis bowled a terrific spell

Delhi Capitals beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 17 runs in the Qualifier 2 clash of Indian Premier League (IPL) to make it to their maiden final of the tournament on Sunday night at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

After opting to bat, Delhi posted an impressive 189 for three in their 20 overs. Delhi was helped by a rapid opening stand worth 86 between Marcus Stoinis (38: 27b, 5x4, 1x6) and Shikhar Dhawan (78: 50b, 6x4, 2x6). Dhawan held the innings together very well as he added a further 52 runs for the third wicket with Shimron Hetmyer (42 n.o.: 22b, 4x4, 1x6). Delhi were throttled by a terrific late over spell by T Natarajan. The wickets were shared between Sandeep Sharma (1-30), Jason Golder (1-50) and Rashid Khan (1-26).

The chase for Hyderabad got off on the wrong note. They were reduced to 44 for three. Thereafter, it was left to Kane Williamson to revive the chase with a 67 off 45 balls with five boundaries and four sixes. Williamson added 57 for the fifth wicket with Abdul Samad (33: 16b, 2x4, 2x6). Williamson fell at a crucial stage and the match just slipped out of Hyderabad's grasp as Samad fell soon after. Stoinis with figures of three for 26 and Kagiso Rabada (4-29) were the best bowlers on view. Hyderabad finished on 172 for eight in their 20 overs to lose by 17 runs.

Match Summary - Delhi Capitals v Sunrisers Hyderabad, Qualifier 2, Indian Premier League

Delhi Capitals 189-3 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-86 (Marcus Stoinis-8.2 ov), 2-126 (Shreyas Iyer-13.6 ov), 3-178 (Shikhar Dhawan-18.3 ov)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 172-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (David Warner-1.1 ov), 2-43 (Priyam Garg-4.4 ov), 3-44 (Manish Pandey-4.6 ov), 4-90 (Jason Holder-11.4 ov), 5-147 (Kane Williamson-16.5 ov), 6-167 (Abdul Samad-18.3 ov), 7-167 (Rashid Khan-18.4 ov), 8-168 (Shreevats Goswami-18.5 ov)

Result - Delhi Capitals won by 17 runs


Playing XIs

Delhi Capitals: Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Marcus Stoinis, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Shimron Hetmyer, Pravin Dubey, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Shreevats Goswami (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Priyam Garg, Jason Holder, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan

©Cricket World 2020