< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Delhi beat Bangalore to finish second

Anrich Nortje celebrates
Anrich Nortje celebrates

Delhi Capitals beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by six wickets to go to second place on the Indian Premier League points table at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Monday night.

Asked to bat, Bangalore posted 152 for seven in their 20 overs. Opener Devdutt Padikkal (50: 41b, 5x4) tried to hold the innings together. Captain Virat Kohli (29) then added 57 runs for the second wicket with Padikkal. Thereafter, it was down to the effort of AB de Villiers (35: 21b, 1x4, 2x6) tried to finish the innings with a flourish. There was a flurry of wickets falling towards the end. For Delhi the best bowlers were Anrich Nortje (3-30) and Kagiso Rabada (2-30).

The chase for Delhi was fashioned by a 88 run second wicket stand between Shikhar Dhawan (54: 41b, 6x4) and Ajinkya Rahane (60: 46b, 5x4, 1x6). There was a middle-order collapse later, but that did not stop Delhi from running away with the match. Shahbaz Ahmed with figures of two for 26 was the best bowler for Bangalore. Delhi finished on
154 for four in their 20 overs to win by six wickets.

Delhi finished in second place, while Bangalore will now have to wait and see which place they finish post tomorrow's game between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians.

Match Summary - Delhi Capitals v Royal Challengers Bangalore, 55th Match, IPL

Royal Challengers Bangalore 152-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-25 (Josh Philippe-4.1 ov), 2-82 (Virat Kohli-12.3 ov), 3-112 (Devdutt Padikkal-15.4 ov), 4-112 (Chris Morris-15.6 ov), 5-145 (Shivam Dube-18.6 ov), 6-146 (AB de Villiers-19.2 ov), 7-150 (Isuru Udana-19.4 ov)

Delhi Capitals 154-4 (19)
Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Prithvi Shaw-1.5 ov), 2-107 (Shikhar Dhawan-12.4 ov), 3-130 (Shreyas Iyer-16.2 ov), 4-136 (Ajinkya Rahane-17.2 ov)

Result - Delhi Capitals won by six wickets


Playing XIs

Delhi Capitals: Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ajinkya Rahane, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Daniel Sams

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Devdutt Padikkal, Josh Philippe, Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers (wicket-keeper), Shivam Dube, Chris Morris, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Isuru Udana, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

©Cricket World 2020