< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Delhi hold their nerves to win

Shreyas Iyer and Shikhar Dhawan shared a crucial stand
Shreyas Iyer and Shikhar Dhawan shared a crucial stand

Delhi Capitals held their nerves to defeat Rajasthan Royals by 13 runs in the Indian Premier League on Wednesday evening at the Dubai International Stadium.

After opting to bat, Delhi posted 161 for seven in their 20 overs. For Delhi the key scorers were opener Shikhar Dhawan (57: 33b, 6x4, 2x6) and captain Shreyas Iyer (53: 43b, 3x4, 2x6). Dhawan and Iyer added 85 runs for the third wicket. Towards the end, Marcus Stoinis (18) and Alex Carey (14) provided a perfect finish. The key wicket-takers were Jofra Archer (3-19) and Jaydev Unadkat (2-32).

 In their chase, Rajasthan were well served by a brisk opening stand between Ben Stokes (41: 35b, 6x4) and Jos Buttler (22). Thereafter, Stokes took charge in partnership with Sanju Samson (25). It did seem for a while that the chase was progressing well, but there was a collapse. Later, experienced Robin Uthappa took charge of the chase, but it was too little too late. In the end the pace of Anrich Nortje (2-33) and Kagiso Rabada (1-28) proved too much. Newcomer Tushar Deshpande (2-37) proved to be the man with the midas touch.

Match Summary - Delhi Capitals v Rajasthan Royals, 30th Match, Indian Premier League

Delhi Capitals 161-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Prithvi Shaw-0.1 ov), 2-10 (Ajinkya Rahane-2.3 ov), 3-95 (Shikhar Dhawan-11.4 ov), 4-132 (Shreyas Iyer-15.6 ov), 5-153 (Marcus Stoinis-18.6 ov), 6-157 (Alex Carey-19.4 ov), 7-161 (Axar Patel-19.6 ov)

Rajasthan Royals 148-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-37 (Jos Buttler-2.6 ov), 2-40 (Steven Smith-3.6 ov), 3-86 (Ben Stokes-10.2 ov), 4-97 (Sanju Samson-11.4 ov), 5-110 (Riyan Parag-13.2 ov), 6-135 (Robin Uthappa-17.3 ov), 7-138 (Jofra Archer-18.4 ov), 8-148 (Shreyas Gopal-19.6)

Result - Delhi Capitals won by 13 runs


Playing XI
Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Tushar Deshpande, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

Rajasthan Royals: Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Steve Smith (captain), Sanju Samson, Robin Uthappa, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat, Kartik Tyagi