< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Delhi lose third game in a row

Wriddhiman Saha played a terrific knock
Wriddhiman Saha played a terrific knock

Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Delhi Capitals by a massive 88 runs to keep their hopes of making it to the playoffs alive in the Indian Premier League.

Asked to bat at the Dubai International Stadium, Hyderabad posted a massive 219 for two in their 20 overs. Skipper David Warner (66: 34b, 8x4, 2x6) shared a 107 run opening stand with Wriddhiman Saha (87: 45b, 12x4, 2x6). There were changes in the Hyderabad side which helped them make some positive strides. Saha was one of them and he made instant impact at the top of the order. Saha shared a 63 run stand with Manish Pandey (44 n.o.: 45b, 12x4, 2x6). None of the Delhi bowlers made any impact with the ball.

The chase for Delhi never took off as they first slipped to 14 for two. Opener Ajinkya Rahane (26) tried to hold the innings together, but it was never enough. Later, Rishabh Pant (36) tried to revive the chase but they lost wickets at regular intervals. The batting completely faltered and that did not help Delhi's case one bit as they crashed to their third straight defeat. For Hyderabad, the key wicket-takers were Sandeep Sharma (2-27) and Rashid Khan once again bamboozled the batsmen with figures of three for seven in four overs. Delhi were bowled out for 131 in 19 overs.

 Match Summary - Sunrisers Hyderabad v Delhi Capitals, 47th Match, Indian Premier League

Sunrisers Hyderabad 219-2 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-107 (David Warner, 9.4 ov), 2-170 (Wriddhiman Saha, 14.3 ov)

Delhi Capitals 131 (19)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Shikhar Dhawan-0.3 ov), 2-14 (Marcus Stoinis-1.6 ov), 3-54 (Shimron Hetmyer-6.1 ov), 4-55 (Ajinkya Rahane-6.5 ov), 5-78 (Shreyas Iyer-11.3 ov), 6-83 (Axar Patel-12.5 ov), 7-103 (Kagiso Rabada-15.6 ov), 8-103 (Rishabh Pant-16.1 ov), 9-125 (Ravichandran Ashwin-17.6 ov), 10-131 (Anrich Nortje, 18.6 ov)

Result - Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 88 runs


Playing XIs

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Vijay Shankar, Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Jason Holder, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, T Natarajan

Delhi Capitals: Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Tushar Deshpande, Anrich Nortje

©Cricket World 2020