< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Dhawan's maiden ton leads Delhi to win

Shikhar Dhawan played a top knock
Shikhar Dhawan played a top knock

Shikhar Dhawan's maiden Indian Premier League (IPL) hundred helped Delhi Capitals beat Chennai Super Kings by five wickets at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Sunday night.

After opting to bat, Chennai posted 179 for four in their 20 overs. The key contributors were Faf du Plessis (58: 47b, 6x4, 2x6) who shared a 87 run second wicket stand with Shane Watson (35: 28b, 6x4). Later, Ambati Rayudu applied finishing touches to the chase with an unbeaten 25 ball 45 with one boundary and four sixes. Rayudu shared an unbroken 50 run fifth wicket stand with Ravindra Jadeja (33 n.o: 13b, 4x6). That provided the perfect finish to the innings. For Delhi the most successful bowler was Anrich Nortje (2-44).

The chase for Delhi was fashioned by their veteran opener Shikhar Dhawan (101 n.o.: 58b, 14x4, 1x6). He shared a 68 run third wicket with captain Shreyas Iyer (23). Later, Marcus Stoinis with a 14 ball 24 laced with a boundary and two sixes, provided the perfect fillip. In the end Axar Patel finished the game off with an unbeaten 21 off five balls with three sixes. Sam Curran bowled well for Chennai picking one for 35. In the end Delhi finished at 185 for five in 19.5 overs to win by five wickets.The most successful bowler for Chennai was Deepak Chahar (2-18).

Match Summary - Chennai Super Kings v Delhi Capitals, 34th Match, Indian Premier League

Chennai Super Kings 179-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Sam Curran-0.3 ov), 2-87 (Shane Watson-11.4 ov), 3-109 (Faf du Plessis-14.4 ov), 4-129 (MS Dhoni-16.3 ov)

Delhi Capitals 185-5 (19.5)

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Prithvi Shaw-0.2 ov), 2-26 (Ajinkya Rahane-4.1 ov), 3-94 (Shreyas Iyer-11.3 ov), 4-137 (Marcus Stoinis-15.4 ov), 5-159 (Alex Carey-18.1 ov)

Result -  Delhi Capitals won by five wickets


Playing XI

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Tushar Deshpande, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

Chennai Super Kings: Sam Curran, Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Karn Sharma