< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020 Final: Mumbai make it two in a row, win title

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals by five wickets in the final of the Indian Premier League (IPL) to win the title for a record fifth time and thereby defended the trophy successfully.

Rohit Sharma's classy 68(51)


After opting to bat, Delhi slipped to 22 for three. It required a 96 run stand for the fourth wicket between Rishabh Pant (56: 38b, 4x4, 2x6) and skipper Shreyas Iyer (65 n.o.: 50b, 6x4, 2x6) to revive the innings. Iyer continued to hold the innings together just as the innings lost momentum once again. He finished unbeaten in the face of Mumbai's relentless bowling approach. The best bowlers for Mumbai were Trent Boult (3-30) and Nathan Coulter-Nile (2-29).

The chase for Mumbai was fashioned by captain Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock. Together the pairing of Rohit and de Kock got the chase off to a rapid start. Thereafter, Rohit played a terrific captain's knock to make 68 off 51 balls with five boundaries. Ishan Kishan played a rapid knock of an unbeaten 33 off 19 balls to help complete the chase in 18.4 overs as Mumbai finished on 157 for five. None of the Delhi bowlers created any impact on the Mumbai batsmen.

Match Summary - Mumbai Indians v Delhi Capitals, Final, Indian Premier League

Delhi Capitals 156-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Marcus Stoinis-0.1 ov), 2-16 (Ajinkya Rahane-2.4 ov), 3-22 (Shikhar Dhawan-3.3 ov), 4-118 (Rishabh Pant-14.6 ov), 5-137 (Shimron Hetmyer-17.2 ov), 6-149 (Axar Patel-19.2 ov), 7-156 (Kagiso Rabada-19.6 ov)

Mumbai Indians 157-5 (18.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-45 (Quinton de Kock-4.1 ov), 2-90 (Suryakumar Yadav-10.5 ov), 3-137 (Rohit Sharma-16.2 ov), 4-147 (Kieron Pollard-17.1 ov),  5-156 (Hardik Pandya-18.3 ov)

Result - Mumbai Indians won by five wickets


Playing XIs

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jayant Yadav, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah

Delhi Capitals: Shikhar Dhawan, Marcus Stoinis, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Shimron Hetmyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Axar Patel, Praveen Dubey, Kagiso Rabada, R Ashwin, Anrich Nortje

©Cricket World 2020