< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Hyderabad beat Bangalore to keep hopes alive

Rashid Khan bowled a terrific spell
Rashid Khan bowled a terrific spell

Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by five wickets to keep their hopes of a place in the Indian Premier League (IPL) playoffs still alive.

Asked to bat at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Saturday night, Bangalore could post only a modest 120 for seven in their 20 overs. Joshua Phillippe (32: 31b, 4x4) was the top-scorer in Bangalore's innings. Later, AB de Villiers (24: 24b, 1x4, 1x6) shared a 43 run stand for the third wicket with Washington Sundar (15 n.o.). Towards the end, Gurkeerat Singh (15 n.o.) tried to maximise the scoring, but to no avail. The best bowlers for Hyderabad were Sandeep Sharma (2-20) and Jason Holder (2-27).

The chase for Hyderabad was fashioned by Wriddhiman Saha (39: 32b, 4x4, 1x6). Saha added 50 run second wicket stand with Manish Pandey (26: 19b, 3x4, 1x6). Towards the end of the chase, Jason Holder applied finishing touches to the chase with a brisk unbeaten 26 off 10 balls with a boundary and three sixes. Yuzvendra Chahal (2-19) was the best bowler for Bangalore. Hyderabad ended on 121 for five in 14.1 overs to win by five wickets.

Match Summary - Royal Challengers Bangalore v Sunrisers Hyderabad, 52nd Match, Indian Premier League

Royal Challengers Bangalore 120-7 (20)

Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Devdutt Padikkal-2.5 ov), 2-28 (Virat Kohli-4.4 ov), 3-71 (AB de Villiers-10.6 ov), 4-76 (Josh Philippe-11.4 ov), 5-106 (Washington Sundar-17.1 ov), 6-113 (Chris Morris-18.2 ov), 7-114 (Isuru Udana-18.4 ov)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 121-5 (14.1)

Fall of wickets: 1-10 (David Warner-1.2 ov), 2-60 (Manish Pandey-6.4 ov), 3-82 (Wriddhiman Saha-10.6 ov), 4-87 (Kane Williamson-12.1 ov), 5-114 (Abhishek Sharma-13.5 ov)

Result - Sunrisers Hyderabad won by five wickets


Playing XIs

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Devdutt Padikkal, Joshua Philippe, Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers (wicket-keeper), Gurkeerat Singh, Washington Sundar, Chris Morris, Isuru Udana, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Jason Holder, Abhishek Sharma, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan

©Cricket World 2020