< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Iyer, bowlers lead Delhi to a victory at Sharjah

Shreyas Iyer played a terrific knock
Shreyas Iyer played a terrific knock

Delhi Capitals led by their skipper Shreyas Iyer and their bowlers registered a 18 run win over Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League (IPL) on Saturday night.

Asked to bat, Delhi posted a massive 228 for four in their 20 overs. The key contributors were Prithvi Shaw (66: 41b, 4x4, 4x6). He first shared a key stand with Shikhar Dhawan (26). Later Shaw shared a 73 run second wicket stand with captain Shreyas Iyer (88 n.o.: 38b, 7x4, 6x6). Rishabh Pant also weighed in with a smart 38 off 17 balls with five boundaries and a six. Only Andre Russell (2-29) managed to control the flow of runs to some extent.

In the chase, Kolkata lost wickets at regular intervals. One drop batsman Nitish Rana was one of the key contributors with a 35 ball 58 with four boundaries and four sixes. But the rest of the batting line-up collapsed around Rana. Tremendous fightback by Eoin Morgan (44: 18b, 1x4, 5x6) who shared a 78 run stand with Rahul Tripathi (36: 16b, 3x4, 3x6) revived the chase. But that was not enough as they lost by 18 runs to finish at 210 for eight in their 20 overs.

The best bowlers for Delhi were Anrich Nortje (3-33) and Harshal Patel (2-34).

Match Summary - Delhi Capitals v Kolkata Knight Riders, 16th Match, Indian Premier League

Delhi Capitals 228-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-56 (Shikhar Dhawan-5.5 ov), 2-129 (Prithvi Shaw-12.4 ov), 3-201 (Rishabh Pant-17.5 ov), 4-221 (Marcus Stoinis-19.1 ov)

Kolkata Knight Riders 210-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Sunil Narine-1.2 ov), 2-72 (Shubman Gill-8.1 ov), 3-94 (Andre Russell-9.5 ov), 4-117 (Nitish Rana-12.4 ov), 5-117 (Dinesh Karthik-12.5 ov), 6-122 (Pat Cummins-13.3 ov),
7-200 (Eoin Morgan-18.3 ov), 8-207 (Rahul Tripathi-19.2 ov)

Result - Delhi Capitals win by 18 runs


Playing XI
Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Amit Mishra, Harshal Patel

Kolkata Knight Riders: Shubman Gill, Sunil Narine, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (captain & wicket-keeper), Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan, Andre Russell, Pat Cummins, Shivam Mavi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Varun Chakravarthy