< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Kolkata completely dominate Delhi

Sunil Narine and Nitish Rana shared a crucial stand
Sunil Narine and Nitish Rana shared a crucial stand

Nitish Rana, Sunil Narine and Varun Chakravarthy played a terrific role in Kolkata Knight Riders' 59 run win over Delhi Capitals in the Indian Premier League at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Saturday afternoon.

After being asked to bat, Kolkata posted an impressive 194 for six in their 20 overs. The star for Kolkata was Rana (81: 53b, 13x4 1x6) who shared a crucial 115 run fourth wicket stand with Sunil Narine (64: 32b, 6x4, 4x6). This was after a middle-order collapse. Eoin Morgan held himself back and that proved to be a masterstroke. The key wicket-takers for Delhi were Anrich Nortje (2-27), Kagiso Rabada (2-33) and Marcus Stoinis (2-41).

The chase for Delhi never took off as they lost openers Ajinkya Rahane and Shikhar Dhawan. Shreyas Iyer as captain tried to hold the innings together. He made 47 off 38 balls with five boundaries. Iyer shared a 63 run third wicket stand with Rishabh Pant (27). But thereafter there was a batting collapse. The rest of the batting just did not have an answer to the guiles of Varun Chakravarthy (5-20). Pat Cummins with figures of three for 17 was the other successful bowler. Delhi finished on 135 for nine in their 20 overs.

 Match Summary - Kolkata Knight Riders v Delhi Capitals, 42nd Match, Indian Premier League

Kolkata Knight Riders 194-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Shubman Gill-1.5 ov), 2-35 (Rahul Tripathi-5.4 ov), 3-42 (Dinesh Karthik-7.2 ov), 4-157 (Sunil Narine-16.4 ov), 5-194 (Nitish Rana-19.5 ov), 6-194 (Eoin Morgan-19.6 ov)

Delhi Capitals 135-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Ajinkya Rahane-0.1 ov), 2-13 (Shikhar Dhawan-2.3 ov), 3-76 (Rishabh Pant-11.2 ov), 4-95 (Shimron Hetmyer-13.2 ov), 5-95 (Shreyas Iyer-13.3 ov), 6-110 (Marcus Stoinis-15.1 ov), 7-112 (Axar Patel-15.5 ov), 8-132 (Kagiso Rabada-18.5 ov), 9-135 (Tushar Deshpande-19.5 ov)

Result - Kolkata Knight Riders won by 59 runs


Playing XI
Kolkata Knight Riders: Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan (captain), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Sunil Narine, Pat Cummins, Lockie Ferguson, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, M Prasidh Krishna, Varun Chakravarthy

Delhi Capitals: Ajinkya Rahane, Shikar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Tushar Deshpande, Anrich Nortje