< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Gaikwad stars yet again in Chennai win

Ruturaj Gaikwad stars yet again
Ruturaj Gaikwad stars yet again

Chennai Super Kings registered a massive nine wicket win over Kings XI Punjab to end their campaign on a high in the Indian Premier League on Sunday afternoon.

After being asked to bat, Kings XI Punjab posted 153 for six in their 20 overs. Captain Lokesh Rahul (29) and Mayank Agarwal (26) shared a 48 run opening stand. Thereafter, towards the end Deepak Hooda finished the innings on a high. Hooda finished on an unbeaten 62 off 30 balls with three boundaries and four sixes. The other batsmen did not really contribute much. The best bowler for Chennai was Lungi Ngidi (3-39).

The chase for Chennai was once again fashioned by opener Ruturaj Gaikwad. He finished unbeaten on 62 off 49 balls with six boundaries and a six. Gaikwad shared a terrific 82 run opening stand with Faf du Plessis (48: 34b, 4x4, 2x6). Later, Ambati Rayudu stepped in with an unbeaten 30 off 30 balls with two boundaries to help seal the chase. Gaikwad and Rayudu added an unbeaten 72 runs for the second wicket. Chennai overhauled the target in 18.5 overs to finish on 154 for one.

Match Summary - Chennai Super Kings v Kings XI Punjab, 53rd Match, Indian Premier League

Kings XI Punjab 153-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-48 (Mayank Agarwal-5.2 ov), 2-62 (KL Rahul-8.3 ov), 3-68 (Nicholas Pooran-10.4 ov), 4-72 (Chris Gayle-11.5 ov), 5-108 (Mandeep Singh-16.2 ov), 6-113 (James Neesham-17.1 ov)

Chennai Super Kings 154-1 (18.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-82 (Faf du Plessis-9.5 ov)

Result - Chennai Super Kings won by nine wickets


Playing XIs

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), N Jagadeesan, Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Imran Tahir, Lungi Ngidi

Kings XI Punjab: Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (captain & wicket-keeper), Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Mandeep Singh, Deepak Hooda, Jimmy Neesham, Chris Jordan, M Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ravi Bishnoi

©Cricket World 2020