< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Lockie Ferguson locks KKR's win

Lockie Ferguson strikes yet again
Lockie Ferguson strikes yet again

Lockie Ferguson made a fantastic first appearance in Indian Premier League (IPL) as he starred in Kolkata Knight Riders' win over Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Super Over on Sunday afternoon at the Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Asked to bat, Kolkata posted 163 for five in their 20 overs. The key early contributors were Shubman Gill (36), Nitish Rana (29) and Rahul Tripathi (23). Later, skipper Eoin Morgan (34) teamed up with former captain Dinesh Karthik (29 n.o.) to add 58 for the fifth wicket. The most successful bowler for Hyderabad was T Natarajan (2-40).

The chase for Hyderabad started off well with a 58 run opening stand between Jonny Bairstow and makeshift opener Kane Williamson (29). Later, captain David Warner revived the chase in the company of first Vijay Shankar and later Abdul Samad (23). In the end Warner almost took Hyderabad across the line in the final over bowled by a half-fit Andre Russell. But the scores level at the end of regular match time at 163 for six. The best bowler for Kolkata in regular time was Lockie Ferguson (3-15).

In the third Super Over of the tournament this year, Ferguson dismissed Warner and Samad to leave just three runs for a win for Kolkata. Morgan and Karthik knocked off the runs quite easily.

Match Summary - Sunrisers Hyderabad v Kolkata Knight Riders, 35th Match, Indian Premier League

Kolkata Knight Riders 163-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-48 (Rahul Tripathi-5.6 ov), 2-87 (Shubman Gill-11.4 ov), 3-88 (Nitish Rana-12.1 ov), 4-105 (Andre Russell-14.6 ov), 5-163 (Eoin Morgan-19.6 ov)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 163-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-58 (Kane Williamson-6.1 ov), 2-70 (Priyam Garg-8.4 ov), 3-70 (Jonny Bairstow-9.2 ov), 4-82 (Manish Pandey, 11.3 ov), 5-109 (Vijay Shankar, 15.2 ov), 6-146 (Abdul Samad, 18.6 ov)

Result - Kolkata Knight Riders won in Super Over


Playing XI
Kolkata Knight Riders: Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan (captain), 5 Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Pat Cummins, Lockie Ferguson, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Shivam Mavi

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Jonny Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Priyam Garg, Vijay Shankar, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Basil Thampi, T Natarajan