< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Morgan, Cummins keep Kolkata hopes alive

Eoin Morgan had plenty to cheer
Eoin Morgan had plenty to cheer

Kolkata Knight Riders kept their hopes of making it to the playoffs alive with a massive 60 run win over Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League on Sunday night.

At the Dubai International Stadium, after being asked to bat, Kolkata posted an impressive 191 for seven in their 20 overs. Shubman Gill (36) shared a 72 run second wicket stand with Rahul Tripathi (39) to help set the platform. Thereafter, skipper Eoin Morgan (68 n.o.: 35b, 5x4, 6x6) held the innings together. Morgan shared a 45 run sixth wicket stand with Andre Russell (25) to push the scoring along. The best bowlers for Rajasthan were Rahul Tewatia (3-25) and Kartik Tyagi (2-36).

The chase for Rajasthan never really took off. They lost their top-order to a terrific spell by Pat Cummins (4-34).

Jos Buttler (35) held the innings together for a while with a 43 run sixth wicket stand with Rahul Tewatia (31). Later Shreyas Gopal made an unbeaten 23 but it was a little too late. The match was long over and Rajasthan finished on 131 for nine in their 20 overs to lose by a massive 60 runs. The best bowlers for Kolkata apart from Cummins were Shivam Mavi (2-15) and Varun Chakravarthy (2-20).

With two days to go in the league phase, there are still four teams in the fray for the three available playoff slots. The four teams are Kolkata, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals and Sunrisers Hyderabad. Mumbai Indians are already through to the final four stage.

Match Summary - Kolkata Knight Riders v Rajasthan Royals, 54th Match, Indian Premier League

Kolkata Knight Riders 191-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Nitish Rana-0.2 ov), 2-73 (Shubman Gill, 8.3 ov), 3-74 (Sunil Narine, 8.6 ov), 4-94 (Rahul Tripathi, 11.6 ov), 5-99 (Dinesh Karthik, 12.3 ov), 6-144 (Andre Russell, 15.3 ov), 7-184 (Pat Cummins, 19.2 ov)

Rajasthan Royals 131-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Robin Uthappa-0.6 ov), 2-27 (Ben Stokes-2.1 ov), 3-32 (Steven Smith-2.6 ov), 4-32 (Sanju Samson-3.3 ov), 5-37 (Riyan Parag-4.6 ov), 6-80 (Jos Buttler-10.4 ov), 7-105 (Rahul Tewatia-14.4 ov), 8-125 (Jofra Archer-17.3 ov), 9-129 (Kartik Tyagi-18.3 ov)

Result - Kolkata Knight Riders won by 60 runs


Playing XIs

Kolkata Knight Riders: Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Eoin Morgan (captain), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Pat Cummins, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy

Rajasthan Royals: Robin Uthappa, Ben Stokes, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Steve Smith (captain), Jos Buttler, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Kartik Tyagi, Varun Aaron

©Cricket World 2020