< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians go atop the points table

Quinton de Kock top-scored for Mumbai Indians
Quinton de Kock top-scored for Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 34 runs to go atop the points table in the Indian Premier League at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

After opting to bat, Mumbai Indians posted 208 for five in their allotted 20 overs. The star with the bat for Mumbai Indians was their wicket-keeper batsman Quinton de Kock (67: 39b, 4x4, 4x6). He shared crucial stands with Suryakumar Yadav first. He then shared a 78 run third wicket stand with Ishan Kishan (31: 23b, 1x4, 2x6). Towards the end Hardik Pandya (28) and Kieron Pollard (25 n.o.) provided some flourish. The best finish came from Krunal Pandya who struck 20 off just four deliveries as he struck two boundaries and two sixes in the final over. The most successful bowlers for Hyderabad were Sandeep Sharma (2-41) and Siddharth Kaul (2-64).

In their chase, Hyderabad lost wickets at regular intervals. Captain David Warner held the innings together with a 44-ball 60 with five boundaries and two sixes. Manish Pandey (30) added 60 runs for the second wicket with Warner to bring the chase back on track. Thereafter, with the loss of quick wickets the chase faltered. Kane Williamson and Priyam Garg fell in quick succession. Towards the end Abdul Samad struck some lusty blows, but it was never going to be enough as they finished on 174 for seven at the end of 20 overs.

For Mumbai the best bowlers were Trent Boult (2-28), James Pattinson (2-29) and Jasprit Bumrah (2-41).

Match Summary - Mumbai Indians v Sunrisers Hyderabad, 17th Match, Indian Premier League

Mumbai Indians 208-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Rohit Sharma-0.5 ov), 2-48 (Suryakumar Yadav-5.5 ov), 3-126 (Quinton de Kock-13.1 ov), 4-147 (Ishan Kishan-14.6 ov), 5-188 (Hardik Pandya-19.2 ov)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 174-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-34 (Jonny Bairstow-4.1 ov), 2-94 (Manish Pandey-9.5 ov), 3-116 (Kane Williamson-12.2 ov), 4-130 (Priyam Garg-14.1 ov), 5-142 (David Warner-15.4 ov), 6-168 (Abdul Samad-18.2 ov), 7-172 (Abhishek Sharma-18.5 ov)

Result - Mumbai Indians won by 34 runs


Playing XI
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Jonny Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Kane Williamson, Priyam Garg, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Siddharth Kaul, T Natarajan, Sandeep Sharma