< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians through to the final

Jasprit Bumrah bowled a terrific spell
Jasprit Bumrah bowled a terrific spell

Mumbai Indians went through to the final of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 with a 57 run win over Delhi Capitals in the Qualifier 1 clash at the Dubai International Stadium on Thursday night.

Asked to bat, Mumbai Indians posted 200 for five in their 20 overs. Quinton de Kock (40: 25b, 5x4, 1x6) shared a 62 run second wicket stand with Suryakumar Yadav (51: 38b, 6x4, 2x6) which put the innings on track. Later, Ishan Kishan took charge in the company of Hardik Pandya. Together the pair put on 60 in just 23 balls for the sixth wicket. Kishan finished unbeaten on 55 off 30 balls with four boundaries and three sixes. Hardik on the other hand finished on an unbeaten 37 off 14 balls with five sixes. The best bowler for Delhi was Ravichandran Ashwin with figures of three for 29.

The chase for Delhi was ruined by the spell of Jasprit Bumrah (4-14) and Trent Boult (2-9). Together the duo destroyed the Delhi top-order. It was thereafter left to a sixth wicket stand between Marcus Stoinis (65: 46b, 6x4, 3x6) and Axar Patel (42: 33b, 2x4, 3x6) worth 71 runs to revive the effort. But when Stoinis was dismissed by Bumrah, the game was over bar the shouting. In the end, Delhi finished on 143 for eight in their 20 overs, 57 runs short.

Match Summary - Delhi Capitals v Mumbai Indians, Qualifier 1, Indian Premier League

Mumbai Indians 200-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Rohit Sharma-1.3 ov), 2-78 (Quinton de Kock-7.4 ov), 3-100 (Suryakumar Yadav-11.5 ov), 4-101 (Kieron Pollard-12.2 ov), 5-140 (Krunal Pandya-16.1 ov)

Delhi Capitals 143-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Prithvi Shaw-0.2 ov), 2-0 (Ajinkya Rahane-0.5 ov), 3-0 (Shikhar Dhawan-1.2 ov), 4-20 (Shreyas Iyer-3.5 ov), 5-41 (Rishabh Pant-7.5 ov), 6-112 (Marcus Stoinis-15.1 ov), 7-112 (Daniel Sams-15.3 ov), 8-141 (Axar Patel-19.5 ov)

Result - Mumbai Indians won by 57 runs


Playing XI
Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Rishbah Pant (wicket-keeper), Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Daniel Sams, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Trent Boult, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah