< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians too good for Rajasthan

Suryakumar Yadav stole the show with the bat
Suryakumar Yadav stole the show with the bat

Mumbai Indians registered a comprehensive 57 run win over Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Tuesday night.

MI vs RR – Suryakumar Yadav Six


After opting to bat, Mumbai Indians got off to a good start. Captain Rohit Sharma (35: 23bm 2x4, 3x6) shared a 49 run opening wicket stand with Quinton de Kock. Thereafter there was a collapse and they were struggling at 88 for three.

Later, Suryakumar Yadav (79 n.o.: 497b, 11x4, 2x6) shared a 76 run fifth wicket stand with Hardik Pandya (30 n.o.: 19b,2x4, 1x6) to give a massive fillip to the scoring rate. In the end Mumbai Indians finished on 193 for four. Leg-spinner Shreyas Gopal (2-28) was the best bowler for Rajasthan.

In their chase Rajasthan lost their top-order quite cheaply. Yashasvi Jaiswal, captain Steve Smith and Sanju Samson fell in quick succession to reduce Rajasthan to 12 for three. Only Jos Buttler (70: 44b, 4x4, 5x6) stood tall amidst the ruins as he shared an important 56 run stand with Tom Curran for the fifth wicket. In the end the rest of the Rajasthan batting collapsed without a fight to finish on 136 in 18.1 overs.

The best bowlers for Mumbai were Jasprit Bumrah (4-20), Trent Boult (2-26) and James Pattinson (2-19).

Match Summary - Mumbai Indians v Rajasthan Royals, 20th Match, Indian Premier League

Mumbai Indians 193-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-49 (Quinton de Kock-4.5 ov), 2-88 (Rohit Sharma-9.1 ov), 3-88 (Ishan Kishan-9.2 ov), 4-117 (Krunal Pandya-13.6 ov)

Rajasthan Royals 136 (18.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Yashasvi Jaiswal-0.2 ov), 2-7 (Steven Smith-1.4 ov), 3-12 (Sanju Samson-2.5 ov), 4-42 (Mahipal Lomror-8.1 ov), 5-98 (Jos Buttler-13.3 ov), 6-108 (Tom Curran-14.4 ov), 7-113 (Rahul Tewatia-15.2 ov), 8-115 (Shreyas Gopal-15.5 ov), 9-136 (Jofra Archer-17.6 ov), 10-136 (Ankit Rajpoot-18.1 ov)

Result - Mumbai Indians won by 57 runs


Playing XI
Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Steven Smith (captain), Sanju Samson, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tewatia, Mahipal Lomror, Tom Curran, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Ankit Rajpoot, Kartik Tyagi

Mumbai Indians: Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Rohit Sharma (captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, James Pattinson, Trent Boult, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah