< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Mumbai register comprehensive win over Chennai

Trent Boult destroyed Chennai Super Kings
Trent Boult destroyed Chennai Super Kings

Mumbai Indians registered a comprehensive 10-wicket win over Chennai Super Kings in the Indian Premier League at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Friday night.

After being asked to bat, Chennai was reduced to three for four and thereafter 21 for five, 30 for six. Thereafter, it was down to Sam Curran to play a lone hand for the side as he scored a fighting 52 off 47 balls with four boundaries and two sixes. He shared two fighting stands first with Shardul Thakur for the eighth wicket worth 28 runs. And towards the end he shared a 43 run stand to give some respectability to the total. The Chennai innings finally ended on 114 for nine in their 20 overs. For Mumbai, the most successful bowler was Trent Boult (4-18). The other bowlers to do well for Mumbai were Jasprit Bumrah (2-25) and Rahul Chahar (2-22).

The chase for Mumbai was quite easy as Quinton de Kock and Ishan Kishan allied quite easily for them. Kishan finished on an unbeaten 68 off 37 balls with six boundaries and five sixes. De Kock scored an unbeaten 46 of 37 balls with five boundaries and two sixes. Mumbai ended on 116 for no loss in 12.2 overs. For Mumbai there was a big change with their skipper Rohit Sharma missing out because of a left hamstring strain. He was replaced by Saurabh Tiwary and the side was being led by Kieron Pollard.

Match Summary - Chennai Super Kings v Mumbai Indians, 41st Match, Indian Premier League

Chennai Super Kings 114-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-0.5 ov), 2-3 (Ambati Rayudu-1.4 ov), 3-3 (Narayan Jagadeesan-1.5 ov), 4-3 (Faf du Plessis-2.5 ov), 5-21 (Ravindra Jadeja-5.2 ov), 6-30 (MS Dhoni-6.4 ov), 7-43 (Deepak Chahar-8.5 ov), 8-71 (Shardul Thakur-14.5 ov), 9-114 (Sam Curran-19.6 ov)

Mumbai Indians 116-0 (12.2)

Result -  Mumbai Indians won by 10 wickets


Playing XI
Chennai Super Kings: Faf du Plessis, Ruturaj Gaikwad, N Jagadeesan, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), Sam Curran, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Josh Hazlewood, Imran Tahir

Mumbai Indians: Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Saurabh Tiwary, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard (captain), Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah