< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Pooran, Maxwell lead Punjab to a win

Lokesh Rahul and Glenn Maxwell celebrate
Lokesh Rahul and Glenn Maxwell celebrate

Kings XI Punjab beat Delhi Capitals by five wickets in the Indian Premier League to keep their hopes of a place in the playoff at the Dubai International Stadium on Tuesday night.

After opting to bat, Delhi posted 164 for five in their 20 overs. The only man to hold the innings together was Shikhar Dhawan. He struck his second consecutive hundred. He finished unbeaten on 106 off 61 balls with 12 boundaries and three sixes. He was the only one who stood tall. There were mediocre contributions from the other batsmen. For Punjab the best bowler was Mohammed Shami (2-28).

The chase for Punjab started off on the wrong note when their captain Lokesh Rahul got out cheaply. Thereafter, Chris Gayle (29: 13b, 3x4, 2x6) took charge. But he fell too soon after. Nicholas Pooran got involved in an ugly run-out with Mayank Agarwal. Pooran then took charge of the chase with a 28-ball 53 with six boundaries and three sixes. Pooran shared a 69 run fourth wicket stand with Glenn Maxwell (32: 24b, 3x4). In the end Deepak Hooda finished the game off in the company of Jimmy Neesham. Punjab finished on 167 for five in 19 overs. Kagiso Rabada (2-27) was yet again the best bowler for Delhi.

Match Summary - Delhi Capitals v Kings XI Punjab, 38th Match, Indian Premier League

Delhi Capitals 164-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-25 (Prithvi Shaw-3.2 ov), 2-73 (Shreyas Iyer-8.3 ov), 3-106 (Rishabh Pant-13.4 ov), 4-141 (Marcus Stoinis-17.3 ov), 5-164 (Shimron Hetmyer-19.6 ov)

Kings XI Punjab 167-5 (19)
Fall of wickets: 1-17 (KL Rahul-2.2 ov), 2-52 (Chris Gayle-5.2 ov), 3-56 (Mayank Agarwal-5.5 ov), 4-125 (Nicholas Pooran-12.3 ov), 5-147 (Glenn Maxwell-15.5 ov)

Result - Kings XI Punjab won by five wickets


Playing XI
Kings XI Punjab: KL Rahul (captain & wicket-keeper), Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Jimmy Neesham, Deepak Hooda, Murugan Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Daniel Sams, Tushar Deshpande