< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Punjab holds the nerve to win in the second Super Over

Mayank Agarwal and Chris Gayle celebrate
Mayank Agarwal and Chris Gayle celebrate

Kings XI Punjab beat Mumbai Indians in the second Super Over in the Indian Premier League on Sunday night at the Dubai International Stadium.

After opting to bat, Mumbai posted 176 for six in their 20 overs. Opener Quinton de Kock held the innings together with a 43 ball 53 with three boundaries and three sixes. He shared a crucial 58 run fourth wicket stand with Krunal Pandya (34). Towards the end of the innings, Kieron Pollard finished on a high in a 57 run unbroken stand for the seventh wicket with Nathan Coulter-Nile (24 n.o.: 12b, 4x4). Pollard remained unbeaten on 34 off just 12 balls with one boundary and four sixes. The key wicket-takers for Punjab were Mohammed Shami (2-30) and Arshdeep Singh (2-35).

The chase was as usual fashioned by Punjab captain Lokesh Rahul (77: 51b, 7x4, 3x6). He held the innings together even as wickets fell around him. Chris Gayle (24) and Nicholas Pooran (24) made useful contributions. Glenn Maxwell was out for a duck. Thereafter, Deepak Hooda applied finishing touches to the chase. Hooda finished unbeaten on 23 off 16 balls. But his partner Chris Jordan got run out off the last ball to finish on 176 for six in their 20 overs.

The most successful bowler for Mumbai were Jasprit Bumrah (3-24) and Rahul Chahar (2-33).

In the Super Over, Punjab made five for the loss of one wicket and scores were tied as Mumbai too made five for no loss. We then went in for a second Super Over. Mumbai made 11 for the loss of one wicket. In the end, Punjab won the match in the second Super Over.

Match Summary - Mumbai Indians v Kings XI Punjab, 36th Match, Indian Premier League

Mumbai Indians 176-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Rohit Sharma-2.5 ov), 2-24 (Suryakumar Yadav-3.3 ov), 3-38 (Ishan Kishan-5.1 ov), 4-96 (Krunal Pandya, 13.5 ov), 5-116 (Hardik Pandya, 15.3 ov), 6-119 (Quinton de Kock, 16.3 ov)

Kings XI Punjab 176-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-33 (Mayank Agarwal-3.3 ov), 2-75 (Chris Gayle-9.1 ov), 3-108 (Nicholas Pooran-12.5 ov), 4-115 (Glenn Maxwell-13.3 ov), 5-153 (KL Rahul-17.3 ov), 6-176 (Chris Jordan-19.6 ov)

Result -  Kings XI Punjab won in the Super Over


Playing XI
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, HH Pandya, KA Pollard, KH Pandya, NM Coulter-Nile, RD Chahar, TA Boult, JJ Bumrah

Kings XI Punjab Team: Lokesh Rahul (captain & wicket-keeper), Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Deepak Hooda, Chris Jordan, Murugan Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh