< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Punjab makes it five in a row

Chris Gayle and Mandeep Singh shared a match-winning stand
Chris Gayle and Mandeep Singh shared a match-winning stand

Kings XI Punjab registered their fifth straight win in the Indian Premier League when they beat Kolkata Knight Riders by eight wickets at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Monday night.

After being asked to bat, Kolkata slipped to 10 for three. Shubman Gill (57: 45b, 3x4, 4x6) then shared a 81 run fourth wicket stand with Eoin Morgan (40: 25b, 5x4, 2x6). Then the batting slipped again because the Kings XI Punjab spinners Murugan Ashwin and Ravi Bishnoi struck at regular intervals. Towards the end Lockie Ferguson (24 n.o.) struck some lusty blows to help amplify the score. It did not help much but Kolkata finished at 149 for nine in their 20 overs. The most successful bowlers for Punjab were Mohammed Shami (3-35), Chris Jordan (2-25) and Bishnoi (2-20).

The chase for Punjab was fashioned by skipper Lokesh Rahul (28) who shared a 47 run opening stand with Mandeep Singh. Then, Mandeep (66 n.o.: 56b, 8x4, 2x6) teamed up with Chris Gayle (51: 29b, 2x4, 5x6) to add 100 runs for the second wicket. The match was sown up in 18.5 overs as Punjab overhauled the target with eight wickets to finish at 150 for two.

Match Summary - Kolkata Knight Riders v Kings XI Punjab, 46th Match, Indian Premier League

Kolkata Knight Riders 149-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Nitish Rana-0.2 ov), 2-10 (Rahul Tripathi-1.4 ov), 3-10 (Dinesh Karthik-1.6 ov), 4-91 (Eoin Morgan-9.5 ov), 5-101 (Sunil Narine-10.6 ov), 6-113 (Kamlesh Nagarkoti-14.2 ov), 7-114 (Pat Cummins-15.4 ov), 8-136 (Shubman Gill-18.3 ov), 9-149 (Varun Chakravarthy-19.5 ov)

Kings XI Punjab 150-2 (18.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-47 (KL Rahul-7.6 ov), 2-147 (Chris Gayle-18.1 ov)

Result - Kings XI Punjab won by eight wickets


Playing XIs

Kolkata Knight Riders: Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (captain), Sunil Narine, Eoin Morgan (captain), Pat Cummins, Lockie Ferguson, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, M Prasidh Krishna, Varun Chakravarthy

Kings XI Punjab: Lokesh Rahul (captain & wicket-keeper), Mandeep Singh, Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Deepak Hooda, Chris Jordan, Murugan Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh

©Cricket World 2020