< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Rahul, Gayle lead Punjab to second win of the season

Chris Gayle and Lokesh Rahul shared a match-winning stand
Chris Gayle and Lokesh Rahul shared a match-winning stand

Kings XI Punjab won their second match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) when they beat Royal Challengers Bangalore for the second time this season at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Thursday night.

Universe Boss is back - 53(45) ©BCCI/IPL

After opting to bat, Bangalore posted 171 for six in their 20 overs. The best performer with the bat was their skipper Virat Kohli (48: 39b, 3x4). He held the innings together. There were useful contributions with the bat from Aaron Finch (20) and Shivam Dube (23) too. But for some strange reason they held back AB de Villiers for longer than expected. That did not work out. Towards the end Chris Morris struck 25 off eight balls with three sixes. The most successful bowlers for Punjab were Murugan Ashwin (2-23) and Mohammed Shami (2-45).

The chase for Punjab was fashioned yet again by the openers captain KL Rahul (61 n.o.: 49b, 1x4, 5x6) and Mayank Agarwal (45: 25b, 4x4, 3x6). They shared an opening stand of 78. Thereafter Rahul teamed up with Chris Gayle (53: 45b, 1x4, 5x6) to script a hard-fought eight wicket win over Bangalore. It did get interesting towards the end, but Punjab somehow managed to hold their nerves and finally won their second game of the season.

 Match Summary - Royal Challengers Bangalore v Kings XI Punjab, 31st Match, Indian Premier League

Royal Challengers Bangalore 171-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-38 (Devdutt Padikkal-4.1 ov), 2-62 (Aaron Finch-6.3 ov), 3-86 (Washington Sundar-10.3 ov), 4-127 (Shivam Dube-15.6 ov), 5-134 (AB de Villiers-17.3 ov), 6-136 (Virat Kohli-17.5 ov)

Kings XI Punjab 177-2 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-78 (Mayank Agarwal-7.6 ov), 2-171 (Chris Gayle-19.5 ov)

Result - Kings XI Punjab won by eight wickets


Playing XI
Kings XI Punjab: Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, KL Rahul (captain & wicket-keeper), Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Deepak Hooda, Chris Jordan, M Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Aaron Finch, Devdutt Padikkal, Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers (wicket-keeper), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Chris Morris, Isuru Udana, Mohammad Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal