< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Rahul leads from the front for Punjab

Lokesh Rahul scored a terrific hundred
Lokesh Rahul scored a terrific hundred

Lokesh Rahul scripted a massive 97 run win for Kings XI Punjab over Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Indian Premier League at the Dubai International Stadium.

Asked to bat, Punjab posted a massive 206 for three thanks to Rahul's unbeaten 132 off 69 balls with 14 boundaries and seven sixes. Rahul batted through the innings with useful support from Mayank Agarwal (26), Nicholas Pooran (17) and Karun Nair (15 n.o.). Rahul had two lives thanks to the dropped catches off his rival skipper Virat Kohli.

In their chase Bangalore lost wickets at regular intervals. Kohli fell for just one. Opener Aaron Finch (20), AB de Villiers (28) and Washington Sundar (30) played fighting knocks, but they were never really in the hunt. Punjab ran home easy winners as Bangalore were bowled out for just 109 in 17 overs.

For Punjab the best bowler were leg-spinners Ravi Bishnoi (3-32) and M Ashwin (3-21). Fast bowler Sheldon Cottrell (2-17) gave them good support.

Match Summary - Kings XI Punjab v Royal Challengers Bangalore, 6th Match, Indian Premier League

Kings XI Punjab 206-3 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-57 (Mayank Agarwal-6.6 ov), 2-114 (Nicholas Pooran-13.1 ov), 3-128 (Glenn Maxwell-15.2 ov)

Royal Challengers Bangalore 109 (17)
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Devdutt Padikkal-0.4 ov), 2-3 (Josh Philippe-1.3 ov), 3-4 (Virat Kohli-2.4 ov), 4-53 (Aaron Finch-7.5 ov), 5-57 (AB de Villiers-8.2 ov), 6-83 (Shivam Dube-12.6 ov), 7-88 (Umesh Yadav-13.6 ov), 8-101 (Washington Sundar-15.2 ov), 9-106 (Navdeep Saini-16.2 ov), 10-109 (Yuzvendra Chahal-16.6 ov)

Result- Kings XI Punjab won by 97 runs


IPL Fixtures

IPL News and Previews

Playing XI
Royal Challengers Bangalore: Devdutt Padikkal, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers, Josh Philippe (wicket-keeper), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Dale Steyn. Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal

Kings XI Punjab: KL Rahul (captain & wicket-keeper), Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Sarfaraz Khan, Jimmy Neesham, M Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Sheldon Cottrell