< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Rajasthan ends Punjab's winning run

Smith and Samson (Rajasthan Royals)
Smith and Samson (Rajasthan Royals)

Rajasthan Royals threw the Indian Premier Leagye (IPL) points table into a tizzy with a seven wicket win over Kings XI Punjab at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Friday night.

Asked to bat, Punjab posted 185 for four in their 20 overs. Captain Lokesh Rahul (46: 41b, 3x4, 2x6) shared a 120 run second wicket stand with Chris Gayle (99: 63b, 6x4, 8x6). During the knock Gayle passed the milestone of 1000 sixes in his T20 career. Towards the end Nicholas Pooran too weighed in with a 10 ball 22 with three sixes. The key wicket-takers for Rajasthan were Jofra Archer (2-26) and Ben Stokes (2-32).

The chase for Rajasthan was fashioned by a 60 run opening wicket stand between Ben Stokes (50: 26b, 6x4, 3x6) and Robin Uthappa (30). The other key contributor was Sanju Samson (48:25b, 4x4, 3x6) who shared a 51 run second wicket stand. Thereafter, captain Steve Smith (31 n.o.: 20b, 5x4) and Jos Buttler (22 n.o.) shared an unbeaten 41 run fourth wicket stand to seal the chase in 17.3 overs. Rajasthan finished on 186 for three.

Jos Buttler interview post match


 Match Summary - Kings XI Punjab v Rajasthan Royals, 50th Match, Indian Premier League

Kings XI Punjab 185-4 (20)

Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Mandeep Singh-0.6 ov), 2-121 (KL Rahul-14.4 ov), 3-162 (Nicholas Pooran-17.6 ov), 4-184 (Chris Gayle-19.4 ov)

Rajasthan Royals 186-3 (17.3)

Fall of wickets: 1-60 (Ben Stokes-5.3 ov), 2-111 (Robin Uthappa-10.5 ov), 3-145 (Sanju Samson-14.2 ov)

Result - Rajasthan Royals won by seven wickets


Playing XIs

Kings XI Punjab: Lokesh Rahul (captain & wicket-keeper), Mandeep Singh, Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Deepak Hooda, Chris Jordan, Murugan Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh

Rajasthan Royals: Robin Uthappa, Ben Stokes, Steve Smith (captain), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Jos Buttler, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Kartik Tyagi, Varun Aaron

©Cricket World 2020