< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Arshdeep, Jordan bowl Punjab to terrific win

Mohammed Shami celebrates
Mohammed Shami celebrates

Kings XI Punjab registered a remarkable 12 run win over Sunrisers Hyderabad as they defended a modest total in the Indian Premier League on Saturday night at the Dubai International Stadium.

Asked to bat, Punjab posted a modest 126 for seven in their 20 overs. Captain Lokesh Rahul (27) started off well. He added 37 for the opening wicket with Mandeep Singh. Thereafter, Chris Gayle (20) played a few strokes. It was then down to Nicholas Pooran who played a resolute knock to hold the innings together with an unbeaten 32 off 28 balls. None of the other batsmen contributed in any way to the total. The Punjab innings ended on a modest note.

For Hyderabad, the best bowlers were Rashid Khan (2-14), Jason Holder (2-27) and Sandeep Sharma (2-29).

The chase for Hyderabad started well with the openers captain David Warner (35) and Jonny Bairstow (19) adding 56 in just 6.2 overs. Thereafter, the innings slowed down, there was regular fall of wickets. Thanks to the tight bowling spells of Murugan Ashwin and Ravi Bishnoi, Punjab made a successful return. Then, Arshdeep Singh (3-23) and Chris Jordan (3-17) bowled tight spells to register an unbelievable win. Hyderabad were bowled out for just 114 in 19.5 overs.

Match Summary - Kings XI Punjab v Sunrisers Hyderabad, 43rd Match, Indian Premier League

Kings XI Punjab 126-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-37 (Mandeep Singh-4.6 ov), 2-66 (Chris Gayle-9.6 ov), 3-66 (KL Rahul-10.1 ov), 4-85 (Glenn Maxwell-13.4 ov), 5-88 (Deepak Hooda-14.2 ov), 6-105 (Chris Jordan-17.3 ov), 7-110 (Murugan Ashwin-18.2 ov)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 114 (19.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-56 (David Warner-6.2 ov), 2-58 (Jonny Bairstow-7.2 ov), 3-67 (Abdul Samad-8.5 ov), 4-100 (Manish Pandey-16.1 ov), 5-110 (Vijay Shankar-17.5 ov), 6-112 (Jason Holder-18.3 ov), 7-112 (Rashid Khan-18.4 ov), 8-114 (Sandeep Sharma-19.2 ov), 9-114 (Priyam Garg-19.3 ov), 10-114 (Khaleel Ahmed-19.5 ov)

Result - Kings XI Punjab won by 12 runs


Playing XI

Kings XI Punjab: KL Rahul (captain & wicket-keeper), Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Deepak Hooda, Chris Jordan, Murugan Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Jonny Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Vijay Shankar, Priyam Garg, Abdul Samad, Jason Holder, Rashid Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan