< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Rashid spins Hyderabad to first win

Rashid Khan bowled a terrific spell
Rashid Khan bowled a terrific spell

Sunrisers Hyderabad scripted their first win of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 when they beat Delhi Captails by 15 runs thanks to Rashid Khan's brilliant spell at the Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Asked to bat, Hyderabad posted a competitive 162 for four in their 20 overs. As usual their openers, captain David Warner (45: 33b, 3x4, 2x6) and Jonny Bairstow (53: 48b, 2x4, 1x6) started well. Warner and Bairstow put on 77 for the opening wicket.

Later, Kane Williamson made a return to the side with a compact 26 ball unbeaten 41 with five boundaries. Debutant Abdul Samad struck a couple of lusty blows towards the end. For Delhi the best bowlers were Kagiso Rabada (2-21) and Amit Mishra (2-35).

The chase for Delhi did not start well. They lost wickets early on. It required a solid 34 off 31 balls with four boundaries by Shikhar Dhawan to keep Delhi in the hunt. Later, it required a fantastic 42-run fourth wicket stand between Rishabh Pant (32) and
Shimron Hetmyer for Delhi to come back in the match. But thereafter they lost wickets at regular intervals to leave Hyderabad in charge.

In the end Delhi finished at 147 for seven to lose by 15 runs.

For Hyderabad the key wicket-takers were Rashid Khan (3-14) and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar (2-25).

Match Summary - Delhi Capitals v Sunrisers Hyderabad, 11th Match, Indian Premier League

Sunrisers Hyderabad 162-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-77 (David Warner-9.3 ov), 2-92 (Manish Pandey-11.2 ov), 3-144 (Jonny Bairstow-17.5 ov), 4-160 (Kane Williamson-19.4 ov)

Delhi Capitals 147-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Prithvi Shaw-0.5 ov), 2-42 (Shreyas Iyer-7.2 ov), 3-62 (Shikhar Dhawan-11.3 ov), 4-104 (Shimron Hetmyer-15.1 ov), 5-117 (Rishabh Pant-16.4 ov), 6-126 (Marcus Stoinis-17.6 ov), 7-138 (Axar Patel-19.3 ov)

Result - Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 15 runs


Playing XI
Delhi Capitals: Shreyas Iyer (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Axar Patel, Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmeyer, Amit Mishra, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Ishant Sharma

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Jonny Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Priyam Garg, Abhishek Sharma, Rashid Khan, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Khaleel Ahmed