< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020 review: Delhi Capitals deserved Final berth, but no more

Kagiso Rabada and Shreyas Iyer
Kagiso Rabada and Shreyas Iyer

Delhi Capitals kick started their IPL 2020 campaign on an exciting note but ran out of steam deep into the tournament.

Dip towards business end

Delhi Capitals played a total of 17 matches in IPL 2020. The team was well placed with seven victories from their first nine games but lost their mojo after being a shoe-in for playoff qualification.

After losing four matches on the trot, the Capitals won their final group game against Royal Challengers Bangalore to finish at the second spot in the points table and made it to Qualifier 1, where they faced Mumbai Indians. However, as anticipated, they weren't able to even run Mumbai close.


With nothing to lose, Delhi Capitals began with a fearless approach at the starting of the tournament. First, Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan went hard against the bowlers and then their pacers Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje bowled some serious heat. 

DC looked like a team with great intent, but as the tournament proceeded and they began to emerge as one of the contenders for the title, Delhi possibly became conscious of the fact and drifted towards a conservative approach.

When you drop Prithvi Shaw, instead of giving him a long rope, given the talent he possesses, and bring in Ajinkya Rahane, you are certainly not sending the right messages.

Only when they promoted Marcus Stoinis to the top of the order and gave him the licence that glimpses of Delhi's fearless approach were visible. Understandably, it was hard to flick the switch in just one go and they somewhat retreated to a conservative approach in the final.

Fluctuating form of openers and quicks

The form of the openers was a big worry for Delhi Capitals. Initially, Prithvi Shaw fired but Shikhar Dhawan could not get going. When Dhawan gained form, smoking back to back centuries, Prithvi Shaw lost his touch and the two could never click together.

Same was the case with Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje, who had a dream run in the first few matches but had more off-days than they would have hoped for in the playoffs.

Fair result

Ricky Ponting and Shreyas Iyer have to be credited to pick up the franchise from where they were in 2018 and take them to the playoffs in back to back seasons. This was the first time they qualified for an IPL final but were far too wobbly to get across the finish line.

Given that the Capitals put together a good team and certainly had the ingredients for winning the title, it is only fair that they made their maiden IPL final appearance. However, with DC playing good cricket only in patches, they did not deserve to win the title.

Best XI

Marcus Stoinis, Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Tushar Deshpande, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

© Cricket World 2020