< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Rohit, bowlers script Mumbai win

Rohit Sharma led from the front
Rohit Sharma led from the front

Mumbai Indians registered a compact 48 run win over Kings XI Punjab in the Indian Premier League (IPL) on Thursday night at the Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Asked to bat, Mumbai posted an impressive 191 for four in their 20 overs. Mumbai lost their way initially as they lost two early wickets. Thereafter, captain Rohit Sharma (70: 45b, 8x4, 3x6) shared a 62 run third wicket stand with Ishan Kishan (28). The innings got proper momentum towards the end when Kieron Pollard (47 n,.o.: 20b, 3x4, 4x6) and Hardik Pandya (30 n.o.: 11b, 3x4, 2x6) added an unbroken 67 runs for the fifth wicket. For Punjab the bowlers shared the wickets around. The most expensive bowler was Jimmy Neesham giving away 52 runs in his four overs.

The chase for Punjab did not start well as they lost wickets at regular intervals. The innings never gained any momentum. Only Nicholas Pooran with a 27 ball 44 with three boundaries and two sixes managed to hold the innings together. In the end Punjab finished at 143 for eight in their 20 overs. For Mumbai the best bowlers were Jasprit Bumrah (2-18), Rahul Chahar (2-26) and James Pattinson (2-28).

Match Summary - Mumbai Indians v Kings XI Punjab, 13th Match, Indian Premier League

Mumbai Indians 191-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Quinton de Kock-0.5 ov), 2-21 (Suryakumar Yadav-3.5 ov), 3-83 (Ishan Kishan-13.1 ov), 4-124 (Rohit Sharma-16.1 ov)

Kings XI Punjab 143-8 (20)

Fall of wickets: 1-38 (Mayank Agarwal-4.5 ov), 2-39 (Karun Nair-5.4 ov), 3-60 (KL Rahul-8.1 ov), 4-101 (Nicholas Pooran-13.2 ov), 5-107 (Glenn Maxwell-14.5 ov), 6-112 (James Neesham-15.6 ov), 7-121 (Sarfaraz Khan-17.1 ov), 8-124 (Ravi Bishnoi-18.3 ov)

Result - Mumbai Indians won by 48 runs


Playing XI
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult

Kings XI Punjab: KL Rahul (captain & wicket-keeper), Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Sarafaraz Khan, Jimmy Neesham, Krishnappa Gowtham, Mohammed Shami, Sheldon Cottrell, Ravi Bishnoi