< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Ruturaj Gaikwad shows MSD his spark, once again

Ruturaj Gaikwad struck a patient fifty
Ruturaj Gaikwad struck a patient fifty

Chennai Super Kings pushed Kolkata Knight Riders to the edge of the exit door by beating them by six wickets in the Indian Premier League on Thursday night at the Dubai International Stadium.

Ruturaj Gaikwad's spectacular 72(53)


Asked to bat, Kolkata posted 172 for five in their 20 overs. Their key performer was their opener Nitish Rana who struck 87 off 61 balls with 10 boundaries and four sixes. He shared a 53 run opening stand with Shubman Gill. Rana's innings helped Kolkata push along and post a decent total. There were handy contributions from Eoin Morgan (15) and Dinesh Karthik (21 n.o.). For Chennai the best bowler was Lungi Ngidi (2-34).

The chase for Chennai was fashioned by a 50-run stand for the opening wicket between Shane Watson (14) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (72: 53b, 6x4, 2x6). Gaikwad then teamed up with Ambati Rayudu (38) to add 68 runs for the second wicket. The innings was progressing well, but there was a mini collapse which made the rest of the squad worried. But Ravindra Jadeja (31 n.o,: 11b, 2x4, 3x6) added 38 runs for an unbroken fifth wicket stand with Sam Curran to seal the win off the last ball. Chennai finished on 178 for four. For Kolkata the best bowlers were Pat Cummins (2-31) and Varun Chakravarthy (2-20).

Match Summary - Kolkata Knight Riders v Chennai Super Kings, 49th Match, Indian Premier League

Kolkata Knight Riders 172-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-53 (Shubman Gill-7.2 ov), 2-60 (Sunil Narine-8.3 ov), 3-93 (Rinku Singh-12.5 ov), 4-137 (Nitish Rana-17.1 ov), 5-167 (Eoin Morgan-19.2 ov)

Chennai Super Kings
Fall of wickets: 1-50 (Shane Watson-7.3 ov), 2-118 (Ambati Rayudu, 13.4 ov), 3-121 (MS Dhoni, 14.4 ov), 4-140 (Ruturaj Gaikwad, 17.2 ov)

Result - Chennai Super Kings won by six wickets


Playing XI

Kolkata Knight Riders: Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Eoin Morgan (captain), Sunil Narine, Rinku Singh, Pat Cummins, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Lockie Ferguson, Varun Chakravarthy

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), N Jagadeesan, Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Mitchell Santner, Deepak Chahar, Karn Sharma, Lungi Ngidi