< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Samson beats Chennai in six hitting contest

Steve Smith (69: 47b, 4x4, 4x6) and Sanju Samson (74: 32b, 1x4, 9x6)
Steve Smith (69: 47b, 4x4, 4x6) and Sanju Samson (74: 32b, 1x4, 9x6)

It was raining sixes at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium in the Indian Premier League (IPL) on Tuesday. But in the end Rajasthan Royals prevailed over Chennai Super Kings in a high-scoring match by 16 runs.

Asked to bat, Rajasthan Royals posted a massixe 216 for seven in their 20 overs. Captain Steve Smith (69: 47b, 4x4, 4x6) and Sanju Samson (74: 32b, 1x4, 9x6) shared a 121 run second wicket stand. Samson struck 30 runs off one Piyush Chawla over and hit nine sixes in all. Towards the end Jofra Archer struck four sixes off the final over of the innings bowled by Lungi Ngidi to finish on an unbeaten 27 off eight deliveries. The best bowler for Chennai Super Kings was Sam Curran (3-33). None of the other bowlers created any pressure.

The chase for Chennai was patchy. They lost wickets at regular intervals, lost their way and never really had the power to match. Towards the end of the chase, Faf du Plessis played a lone hand. Du Plessis struck 72 off 37 balls with one boundary and seven sixes.

Shane Watson also earlier hit 33 off 21 balls with four sixes and a boundary. Towards the end, Mahendra Singh Dhoni struck an unbeaten 29 off 17 balls with three sixes. In the end Rajasthan were easy winners, as Chennai finished at 200 for six in their 20 overs.

Leg-spinner Rahul Tewatia was the best bowler for Rajasthan with figures of three for 37.

Match Summary - Rajasthan Royals v Chennai Super Kings, 4th Match, Indian Premier League

Rajasthan Royals 216-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Yashasvi Jaiswal-2.2 ov), 2-132 (Sanju Samson-11.4 ov), 3-134 (David Miller-11.6 ov), 4-149 (Robin Uthappa-14.1 ov), 5-167 (Rahul Tewatia-16.2 ov), 6-173 (Riyan Parag-16.6 ov), 7-178 (Steven Smith-18.2 ov)

Chennai Super Kings 200-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-56 (Shane Watson-6.4 ov), 2-58 (Murali Vijay-7.3 ov), 3-77 (Sam Curran-8.5 ov), 4-77 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-8.6 ov), 5-114 (Kedar Jadhav-13.4 ov), 6-179 (Faf du Plessis-18.5 ov)

Result - Rajasthan Royals won by 16 runs


Playing XI

Rajasthan Royals: Robin Uthappa, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Steven Smith (captain), David Miller, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Tom Curran, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat

Chennai Super Kings: Shane Watson, Murali Vijay, Faf du Plessis, Ruturaj Gaikwad, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Piyush Chawla, Deepak Chahar, Lungi Ngidi

©Cricket World 2020