< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Samson, Tewatia lead Royals to terrific triumph

Sanju Samson played an unbelievable innings
Sanju Samson played an unbelievable innings

Sanju Samson and Rahul Tewatia scripted an unbelievable four-wicket win for Rajasthan Royals over Kings XI Punjab in the Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Sunday night.

Asked to bat on a featherbed, Kings XI Punjab went beserk. Their openers-captain Lokesh Rahul (69: 54b, 7x4, 1x6) and Mayank Agarwal (106: 50b, 10x4, 7x6) shared a rollicking 183 run opening stand.

Agarwal now trails his captain by just one run in the top run-getters' list for the season so far. Agarwal became the second centurion of the season, behind only his Rahul. After the openers fell, it was then down to Glenn Maxwell (13 n.o.) and Nicholas Pooran (25 n.o.) as they finished on a high.

Later, in the chase Rajasthan Royals seemed to be on track right from the start. Captain Steve Smith (50: 27b, 7x4, 2x6) shared a 81-run second wicket stand with Sanju Samson (85: 42b, 4x4, 7x6). Samson took control, but at first Rahul Tewatia struggled. Later, Tewatia made a strong comeback smoking 53 off 31 balls with seven sixes. Tewatia struck five sixes off one Sheldon Cottrell over to turn the tide for Royals. In the end Rajasthan finished on 226 for six in 19.3 overs to win by four wickets. Mohammed Shami picked three for 53, but it was never enough for Kings XI Punjab.

Match Summary - Kings XI Punjab v Rajasthan Royals, 9th Match, Indian Premier League

Kings XI Punjab 223-2 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-183 (Mayank Agarwal-16.3 ov), 2-194 (KL Rahul-17.6 ov)

Rajasthan Royals 226-6 (19.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Jos Buttler-2.2 ov), 2-100 (Steven Smith-8.6 ov), 3-161 (Sanju Samson-16.1 ov), 4-203 (Robin Uthappa-18.1 ov), 5-222 (Rahul Tewatia-18.6 ov), 6-222 (Riyan Parag-19.2 ov)

Result - Rajasthan Royals won by four wickets


Playing XI
Kings XI Punjab: Lokesh Rahul (captain & wicket-keeper), Mayank Agarwal, Glenn Maxwell, Nicholas Pooran, Karun Nair, Jimmy Neesham, Sarfaraz Khan, Mohammed Shami, Sheldon Cottrell, Ravi Bishnoi, M Ashwin

Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Steve Smith (captain), Sanju Samson, Robin Uthappa, Riyan Parag, Tom Curran, Rahul Tewatia, Shreyas Gopal, Jofra Archer, Ankit Rajpoot, Jaydev Unadkat