< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Siraj spells doom for KKR

Mohammed Siraj appeals during his terrific spell
Mohammed Siraj appeals during his terrific spell

Royal Challengers Bangalore registered a comprehensive eight wicket win over Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League at the Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday night.

After opting to bat, Kolkata was restricted to a very moderate 84 for eight in their 20 overs. They lost their top-order for next to nothing. Mohamed Siraj bowled two maiden overs to thereby become the first bowler in the IPL to do so. He picked up three of the top-order Kolkata wickets. The Kolkata top-order was reduced to 14 for four. Thereafter, it was upto captain Eoin Morgan to hold the innings together. Morgan was the seventh man out for 30 off 34 balls with three boundaries and a six. Towards the end, Kuldeep Yadav and Lockie Ferguson (19 n.o.) added 27 runs for the eighth wicket. The most successful bowler for Bangalore were Siraj (3-8) and Yuzvendra Chahal (2-15).

The chase for Kolkata was very simple as the openers Aaron Finch and Devdutt Padikkal allied well. Finch fell with the score on 46 and Padikkal soon after at the same score. Captain Virat Kohli and Gurkeerat thereafter put together an unbeaten stand to close out the match for Bangalore. Kohli finished unbeaten on 

Match Summary - Kolkata Knight Riders v Royal Challengers Bangalore, 39th Match, Indian Premier League

[mpu-3Kolkata Knight Riders 84-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Rahul Tripathi-1.3 ov), 2-3 (Nitish Rana-1.4 ov), 3-3 (Shubman Gill-2.2 ov), 4-14 (Tom Banton-3.3 ov), 5-32 (Dinesh Karthik-8.4 ov), 6-40 (Pat Cummins-12.3 ov), 7-57 (Eoin Morgan-15.4 ov), 8-84 (Kuldeep Yadav-19.6 ov)

Royal Challengers Bangalore
Fall of wickets: 1-46 (Aaron Finch-6.2 ov), 2-46 (Devdutt Padikkal-6.4 ov)

Result - Royal Challengers Bangalore won by eight wickets


Playing XI

Kolkata Knight Riders: Shubman Gill, Tom Banton, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Eoin Morgan (captain), Pat Cummins, Lockie Ferguson, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Varun Chakravarthy

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Devdutt Padikkal, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers (wicket-keeper), Gurkeerat Singh, Chris Morris, Washington Sundar, Isuru Udana, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj