< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Sunrisers Hyderabad deliver knockout punch to Bangalore

Kane Williamson and Jason Holder
Kane Williamson and Jason Holder
Kane Williamson played a classical knock
Kane Williamson played a classical knock

Sunrisers Hyderabad stayed afloat in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 as they beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by six wickets in the Eliminator clash at the Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Friday night.

Ice cool Kane's match-winning 50*(44) © BBCI/IPL

Hyderabad will now play Delhi Capitals in the second Qualifier clash on Sunday.

Asked to bat, Bangalore finished on 131 for seven in their 20 overs. There was an initial struggle for Bangalore. Aaron Finch (32: 30b, 3x4, 1x6) held the innings together. Thereafter, AB de Villiers played one of his classical knocks. De Villiers was clean bowled by T Natarajan's terrific yorker for 56 off 43 balls with five boundaries. None of the other batsmen contributed in any way. The best bowlers for Hyderabad were Jason Holder (3-25) and Natarajan (2-33).

The chase for Hyderabad got off on the wrong note. Captain David Warner (17) was out early after Shreevats Goswami fell for a duck. Manish Pandey (24) tried to hold the innings together for a while. Thereafter, it was down to the experience of Kane Williamson to take Hyderabad home. Williamson finished on an unbeaten 50 off 44 balls with two boundaries and two sixes. Williamson added 65 runs for an unbroken fifth wicket stand with Holder (24 n.o.). The best bowler for Bangalore was Mohammed Siraj (2-28).

Match Summary - Sunrisers Hyderabad v Royal Challengers Bangalore, Eliminator, Indian Premier League

Royal Challengers Bangalore 131-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Virat Kohli-1.2 ov), 2-15 (Devdutt Padikkal-3.3 ov), 3-56 (Aaron Finch-10.2 ov), 4-62 (Moeen Ali-10.4 ov), 5-99 (Shivam Dube-15.4 ov), 6-111 (Washington Sundar-17.1 ov), 7-113 (AB de Villiers-17.5 ov)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 132-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Shreevats Goswami-0.4 ov), 2-43 (David Warner-5.4 ov), 3-55 (Manish Pandey-8.3 ov), 4-67 (Priyam Garg-11.5 ov)

Result - Sunrisers Hyderabad won by six wickets


Playing XIs

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Sreevats Goswami (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Priyam Garg, Jason Holder, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Devdutt Padikkal, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers (wicket-keeper), Shivam Dube, Moeen Ali, Washington Sundar, Navdeep Saini, Adam Zampa, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

©Cricket World 2020