< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2020: Warner, Bairstow and Rashid Khan script SRH win

Jonny Bairstow struck yet another half-century
Jonny Bairstow struck yet another half-century

Sunrisers Hyderabad posted a comprehensive 69 run win over Kings XI Punjab in the Indian Premier League at the Dubai International Stadium on Thursday night.

After opting to bat, Sunrisers posted 201 for six. The charge was led by captain David Warner (52: 40b, 5x4, 1x6) and his partner Jonny Bairstow (97:55b, 7x4, 6x6). They added 160 for the opening wicket as Punjab finally claimed a wicket after 219 balls or 36.3 overs as they could not strike in the previous game against Chennai Super Kings. Thereafter, Ravi Bishnoi struck regular intervals. Bishnoi ended with figures of three for 29 and Arshdeep Singh claimed two for 33. They ensured that Hyderabad did not run away with the score.

In the chase, Punjab were never in the hunt. They lost wickets at regular intervals. For a brief while it looked like Glenn Maxwell would align well with Nicholas Pooran but it did not happen. Only Pooran stood tall with a 77 off 37 balls with five boundaries and seven sixes. The rest of the batting order just simply collapsed.

The best bowlers for Hyderabad were Rashid Khan (3-12) and T Natarajan (2-24).

Match Summary - Sunrisers Hyderabad v Kings XI Punjab, 22nd Match, Indian Premier League

Sunrisers Hyderabad 201-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-160 (David Warner-15.1 ov), 2-160 (Jonny Bairstow-15.4 ov), 3-161 (Manish Pandey-16.1 ov), 4-173 (Abdul Samad-17.5 ov), 5-175 (Priyam Garg-18.1 ov), 6-199 (Abhishek Sharma-19.5 ov)

Kings XI Punjab 132 (16.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Mayank Agarwal-1.3 ov), 2-31 (Simran Singh-4.2 ov), 3-58 (KL Rahul-6.4 ov), 4-105 (Glenn Maxwell-10.6 ov), 5-115 (Mandeep Singh-12.3 ov), 6-126 (Mujeeb Ur Rahman-13.5 ov), 7-126 (Nicholas Pooran-14.5 ov), 8-126 (Mohammed Shami-14.6 ov), 9-132 (Sheldon Cottrell-16.2 ov), 10-132 (Arshdeep Singh-16.5 ov)

Result - Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 69 runs


Playing XI
Kings XI Punjab: KL Rahul (captain), 2 Mayank Agarwal, Mandeep Singh, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Prabsimran Singh (wicket-keeper), Arshdeep Singh, Sheldon Cottrell, Mujeeb ur Rahman Mohammad Shami, Ravi Bishnoi

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Jonny Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Kane Williamson, Manish Pandey, Priyam Garg, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed, T Natarajan