< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021: Axar, Avesh, Shreyas star in Delhi's win

Delhi Capitals held their nerves to beat Mumbai Indians by four wickets in a low-scoring encounter at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

Mumbai after being asked to bat posted 129 for eight in their 20 overs. In response Delhi chased down the target with four wickets to spare in 19.1 overs to finish on 132 for six.

Earlier, Mumbai struggled all through their innings as the batsmen failed to get going. Only Suryakumar Yadav showed some spark while he made a 26-ball 33 with two boundaries and two sixes. There were sparse contributions from the others, as even the 15th and 16th over contributed a single run! The Delhi bowlers were all over Mumbai as they restricted them to 129 for eight.

For Delhi the best bowlers were Avesh Khan (3-15) and Axar Patel (3-21).

In their response, Delhi struggled for a while as they were reduced to 30 for three. Then captain Rishabh Pant (26) took over to stabilise the chase. Thereafter, it was down to Shreyas Iyer (33 n.o.) to control the chase. There was a brief worrisome period when Axar Patel and Shimron Hetmyer fell in quick succession. But Ravichandran Ashwin used up all his experience as he calmed the nerves in an unbroken 39 run seventh wicket stand with Iyer. Ashwin finally hit the winning runs with a huge six which sealed the contest.

For Mumbai there was no single standout bowler as the struggled to gain control of the match. This match further dented Mumbai's chances of making it to the playoffs.

Delhi made one change bringing in Prithvi Shaw in place of Lalit Yadav. Mumbai also brought in Jayant Yadav for Rahul Chahar.

Match Summary

Mumbai Indians: 129-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Rohit Sharma-1.5 ov), 2-37 (Quinton de Kock-6.2 ov), 3-68 (Suryakumar Yadav-10.3 ov), 4-80 (Saurabh Tiwary-12.5 ov), 5-87 (Kieron Pollard-14.1 ov), 6-109 (Hardik Pandya-18.1 ov), 7-111 (Nathan Coulter-Nile-18.4 ov), 8-122 (Jayant Yadav-19.2 ov)

Delhi Capitals: 132-6 (19.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Shikhar Dhawan-1.6 ov), 2-15 (Prithvi Shaw-2.4 ov), 3-30 (Steven Smith-4.1 ov), 4-57 (Rishabh Pant-8.2 ov), 5-77 (Axar Patel-11.4 ov), 6-93 (Shimron Hetmyer-13.1 ov)

Result: Delhi Capitals won by four wickets 


Playing XI 
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Saurabh Tiwary, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard,  Krunal Pandya, Jayant Yadav, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Steven Smith, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (captain & wicket-keeper), Shimron Hetmyer, Axar Patel,  Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Avesh Khan, Anrich Nortje

Match details
Toss: Delhi Capitals, elected to field
Venue: Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
Start time: 1400 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Michael Gough (On-field Umpires); Nitin Menon (TV Umpire); Navdeep Singh (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)