< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021: Bangalore keep hopes of playoff alive

Royal Challengers Bangalore consolidated its hopes of making the playoff stage of the Indian Premier League (IPL) with a seven-wicket win over Rajasthan Royals at the Dubai International Stadium on Wednesday.

Rajasthan scored 149 for nine in their 20 overs and in response Bangalore chased down the target to finish on 153 for three in 17.1 overs.

Earlier, Rajasthan posted 149 for nine in their 20 overs. The opening pair of Evin Lewis (58: 37b, 5x4, 3x6) and Yashasvi Jaiswal (31) posted 77 for the first wicket. But after that the rest of the innings just collapsed. Just captain Sanju Samson managed to hold the innings together for a while. None of the other batsmen showed any fight.

For Bangalore the wicket-takers were Harshal Patel (3-34), Yuzvendra Chahal (2-18) and Shahbaz Ahmed (2-10).

In their response, Bangalore started off confidently through their captain Virat Kohli and Devdutt Padikkal who put on 48. Then wicket-keeper Srikar Bharat (44) took over and added 69 for the third wicket with Glenn Maxwell. The Australian then took charge and completed the chase quite efficiently. When the winning hit was scored, Maxwell finished unbeaten on 50 off 30 balls with six boundaries and a six. Bangalore finished on 153 for three in 17.1 overs to win by seven wickets.

For Rajasthan the chief wicket-taker was Mustafizur Rahman (2-20).

Rajasthan made one change to their line-up bringing in Kartik Tyagi in place of Jaydev Unadkat. Bangalore made one change bringing in George Garton instead of Kyle Jamieson.

Match Summary

Rajasthan Royals: 149-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-77 (Yashasvi Jaiswal-8.2 ov), 2-100 (Evin Lewis-11.1 ov), 3-113 (Mahipal Lomror-12.5 ov), 4-113 (Sanju Samson-13.1 ov), 5-117 (Rahul Tewatia-13.6 ov), 6-127 (Liam Livingstone-16.2 ov), 7-146 (Riyan Parag-19.2 ov), 8-146 (Chris Morris-19.3 ov), 9-149 (Chetan Sakariya-19.6 ov)

Royal Challengers Bangalore: 153-3 (17.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-48 (Devdutt Padikkal-5.2 ov), 2-58 (Virat Kohli-6.5 ov), 3-127 (Srikar Bharat-15.6 ov)

Result: Royal Challengers Bangalore won by seven wickets 


Playing XI
Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), Devdutt Padikkal, KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers, Daniel Christian, George Garton, Shahbaz Ahmed, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj

Rajasthan Royals: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Evin Lewis, Sanju Samson (captain & wicket-keeper), Liam Livingstone, Mahipal Lomror, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Chris Morris, Kartik Tyagi, Chetan Sakariya, Mustafizur Rahman

Match detials
Toss: Royal Challengers Bangalore, elected to field
Venue: Dubai International Stadium, Dubai
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Anil Dandekar, KN Ananthapadmanabhan (On-field Umpires); Richard Illingworth (TV Umpire); Krishnamachari Srinivasan (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee)