< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021: Bangalore third team to qualify for playoffs

Royal Challengers Bangalore became the third team to book their place in the playoffs of the Indian Premier League (IPL) with a six-run win over Punjab Kings.

At the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Sunday afternoon, Bangalore posted 164 for seven in their 20 overs and Punjab fell short by six runs in their chase.

Earlier, Bangalore was first well-served by a fine opening stand of 68 between Virat Kohli and Devdutt Padikkal (40). Then it was down to Glenn Maxwell to take charge. Maxwell finished on 57 off 33 balls with three boundaries and four sixes. Maxwell added 73 for the fourth wicket with AB de Villiers. Towards the end the finish was not as high as Bangalore expected, but the score was decent.

For Punjab the key wicket-takers were Moises Henriques (3-12) and Mohammed Shami (3-39).

The chase started off well for Punjab as captain Lokesh Rahul (39) added 91 for the opening wicket with Mayank Agarwal (57: 42b, 6x4, 2x6). But thereafter there was a collapse as the middle-order failed yet again for Punjab. Aiden Markram, Shahrukh Khan and Henriques tried to revive the chase but to no avail. In the end Punjab finished on 158 for six, six runs short.

For Bangalore the chief wicket-taker was Yuzvendra Chahal (3-29). 

Earlier, Bangalore went in with an unchanged XI, whereas Punjab made three changes with Fabian Allen, Deepak Hooda, Nathan Ellis making way for Harpreet Brar, Sarfaraz Khan and Moises Henriques.

Match Summary

Royal Challengers Bangalore: 164-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-68 (Virat Kohli-9.4 ov), 2-68 (Dan Christian-9.5 ov), 3-73 (Devdutt Padikkal-11.4 ov), 4-146 (AB de Villiers-18.2 ov), 5-157 (Glenn Maxwell-19.2 ov), 6-163 (Shahbaz Ahmed-19.4 ov), 7-163 (George Garton-19.5 ov)

Punjab Kings: 158-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-91 (KL Rahul-10.5 ov), 2-99 (Nicholas Pooran-12.5 ov), 3-114 (Mayank Agarwal-15.2 ov), 4-121 (Sarfaraz Khan-15.5 ov), 5-127 (Aiden Markram-16.5 ov), 6-146 (Shahrukh Khan-19.1 ov)

Result: Royal Challengers Bangalore won by six runs


Playing XI

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), Devdutt Padikkal, Srikar Bharat (wicket-keeper), Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers, Dan Christian, Shahbaz Ahmed, George Garton, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Punjab Kings: KL Rahul (captain & wicket-keeper), Mayank Agarwal, Aiden Markram, Nicholas Pooran, Sarfaraz Khan, Shahrukh Khan, Moises Henriques, Harpreet Brar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh

Match details
Toss: Royal Challengers Bangalore, elected to field
Venue: Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
Start time: 1400 hrs UAE time
Match officials: KN Ananthapadmanabhan, Richard Illingworth (On-field umpires); Krishnamachari Srinivasan (TV Umpire); Yeshwant Barde (Reserve Umpire); Prakash Bhatt (Match-referee)