< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021: Chennai first team to qualify for playoffs

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni

Chennai Super Kings became the first team to qualify for the playoff stage of the Indian Premier League (IPL) with a strong six-wicket win over Sunrisers Hyderabad.

At the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad posted 134 for seven in their 20 overs and in response Chennai chased down the target in 19.4 overs to finish on 139 for four.

Earlier, Hyderabad struggled all through their innings. Only Wriddhiman Saha managed to hold the innings together with a 46-ball 44 with one boundary and two sixes. Abhishek Sharma and Abdul Samad added 35 runs for the fifth wicket. But the innings did not get an elevation in the scoring rate and as a result Hyderabad finished on 134 for seven in their 20 overs.

For Chennai the chief wicket-takers were Josh Hazlewood (3-24) and Dwayne Bravo (2-17).

In their response Chennai got off to a good strt with Ruturaj Gaikwad (45) and Faf du Plessis (41) putting on 75 for the opening wicket. Thereafter there was a brief collapse as the innings collapsed from 103 for one to 108 for four. But thereafter, Ambati Rayudu and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni added 31 runs in an unbroken fifth wicket stand to end on 139 for four to seal a six-wicket win.

For Hyderabad the chief wicket-taker was Jason Holder (3-27).

Earlier, Hyderabad remained unchanged from the previous game, whereas Chennai made one change bringing in Dwayne Bravo in place of Sam Curran.

Match Summary
Sunrisers Hyderabad: 134-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Jason Roy-3.3 ov), 2-43 (Kane Williamson-6.3 ov), 3-66 (Priyam Garg-10.5 ov), 4-74 (Wriddhiman Saha-12.3 ov), 5-109 (Abhishek Sharma-16.3 ov), 6-110 (Abdul Samad-16.5 ov), 7-117 (Jason Holder-18.2 ov)

Chennai Super Kings: 139-4 (19.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-75 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-10.1 ov), 2-103 (Moeen Ali-14.4 ov), 3-107 (Suresh Raina-15.3 ov), 4-108 (Faf du Plessis-15.5 ov)

Result: Chennai Super Kings won by six wickets 


Playing XI
Sunrisers Hyderabad: Jason Roy, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Kane Williamson (captain), Priyam Garg, Abhishek Sharma, Jason Holder, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddharth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma

Chennai Super Kings: Faf du Plessis, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood

Match officials
Toss: Chennai Super Kings, elected to field
Venue: Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Nitin Menon, Yeshwant Barde (On-field umpires); Michael Gough (TV Umpire); Saiyed Khalid (Reserve Umpire); Prakash Bhatt (Match-referee)