< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021: Chennai make it fabulous four

Chennai Super Kings beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs in the Indian Premier League (IPL) final to claim their fourth title.

On Friday night at the Dubai International Stadium, Chennai posted 192 for three after being asked to bat and in response Kolkata made 165 for nine to fall short by 27 runs.

Earlier, both sides remain unchanged as Chennai started off confidently. Openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis (86: 59b, 7x4, 3x6) added 61 for the opening wicket. Thereafter, Robin Uthappa played a swift 15-ball 31 with three sixes to boot to up the scoring rate. Uthappa added 63 runs for the second wicket with du Plessis. Then, du Plessis added 68 runs for the third wicket with Moeen Ali. Chennai finally finished on 192 for three in 20 overs.

For Kolkata, the best bowler was Sunil Narine (2-26).

Kolkata started off very well in the chase. Openers Shubman Gill (51: 43b, 6x4) and Venkatesh Iyer (50: 32b, 5x4, 3x6) added 91 for the opening wicket. Then there was a collapse as Kolkata moved from 91 for no loss to 125 for eight as the out of form middle-order caved in meekly. From there on Kolkata was completely out of the contest as the chase went out of question. For Chennai's chief wicket-takers were Shardul Thakur (3-38), Josh Hazlewood (2-29) and Ravindra Jadeja (2-37).

Chennai claimed their fourth title in nine attempts to make Mahendra Singh Dhoni as the second most successful captain in IPL history.

Match Summary

Chennai Super Kings: 192-3 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-61 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-8.1 ov), 2-124 (Robin Uthappa-13.3 ov), 3-192 (Faf du Plessis-19.6 ov)

Kolkata Knight Riders: 165-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-91 (Venkatesh Iyer-10.4 ov), 2-93 (Nitish Rana-10.6 ov), 3-97 (Sunil Narine-11.3 ov), 4-108 (Shubman Gill-13.2 ov), 5-119 (Dinesh Karthik-14.5 ov), 6-120 (Shakib Al Hasan-14.6 ov), 7-123 (Rahul Tripathi-15.4 ov), 8-125 (Eoin Morgan-16.3 ov), 9-164 (Shivam Mavi-19.5 ov)

Result: Chennai Super Kings won by 27 runs


Playing XI
Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood

Kolkata Knight Riders: Venkatesh Iyer, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan (captain), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy, Lockie Ferguson

Match details

Toss: Kolkata Knight Riders, elected to field
Venue: Dubai International Stadium, Dubai
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Nitin Menon, Richard Illingworth (On-field umpires); Sundaram Ravi (TV Umpire); Virender Sharma (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021