< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021: Chennai make it to ninth IPL final in style

Chennai Super Kings made it to their ninth final of the Indian Premier League (IPL) after they beat Delhi Capitals by four wickets in the first qualifier clash on Sunday night.

Delhi after being asked to bat posted 172 for five in their 20 overs. In their response, Chennai chased down the target in 19.4 overs to finish on 173 for six.

Earlier, Delhi made one change to their playing XI by bringing in English seamer Tom Curran in place of Ripal Patel. For Delhi, the top performer was Prithvi Shaw who batted at break neck speed to score 60 off 34 balls with seven boundaries and three sixes. The other big performer was captain Rishabh Pant (51 n.o.: 24b, 3x4, 2x6). Pant shared 83 runs for the fifth wicket with Shimron Hetmyer (37) as Delhi finished on a high. The top wicket-taker for Chennai was Josh Hazlewood (2-29).

In their chase, Chennai lost Faf du Plessis in the very first over. Then Ruturaj Gaikwad (70: 50b, 5x4, 2x6) added 113 for the second wicket with Robin Uthappa (63: 44b, 7x4, 2x6). The chase wobbled for a bit as Chennai collapsed from 113 for one to 119 for four. Despite the wobble they didn't lose their composure. Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni applied finishing touches to the chase with a brisk 18 off just six balls with three boundaries and a six. Chennai chased down the target in 19.4 overs to finish on 173 for six.

For Delhi, the chief wicket-taker was Curran (3-29).

Delhi will now wait to play the winner in the eliminator clash on Monday night between Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore. The second qualifier will be played on Wednesday night at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium in Sharjah.

Match Summary

Delhi Capitals: 172-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-36 (Shikhar Dhawan-3.2 ov), 2-50 (Shreyas Iyer-5.3 ov), 3-77 (Axar Patel-9.4 ov), 4-80 (Prithvi Shaw-10.2 ov), 5-163 (Shimron Hetmyer-18.4 ov)

Chennai Super Kings: 173-6 (19.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Faf du Plessis-0.4 ov), 2-113 (Robin Uthappa-13.3 ov), 3-117 (Shardul Thakur-13.6 ov), 4-119 (Ambati Rayudu-14.4 ov), 5-149 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-18.1 ov), 6-160 (Moeen Ali-19.1 ov)

Result: Chennai Super Kings won by four wickets


Playing XI
Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant (captain & wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Shimron Hetmyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Tom Curran, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Avesh Khan

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, Robin Uthappa, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood

Match Details
Toss: Chennai Super Kings, elected to field
Venue: Dubai International Stadium, Dubai
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Nitin Menon, Richard Illingworth (On-field Umpires); Michael Gough (TV umpire); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)