< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021: Coulter-Nile, Neesham, Kishan keep Mumbai hopes alive

Coulter Nile and Rohit Sharma
Coulter Nile and Rohit Sharma

Mumbai Indians thrashed Rajasthan Royals by eight wickets to keep their hopes of making the playoff stage of the Indian Premier League (IPL)

At the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Rajasthan after being asked to bat was restricted to a paltry 90 for nine and in response Mumbai chased down the target in just 8.2 overs to finish on 94 for two.

Rajasthan's innings had few scores of note. Only Evin Lewis (24) managed to make a major contribution. Just three others Yashasvi Jaiswal, David Miller and Rahul Tewatia managed to enter double figures.

There was no contribution of any kind as Nathan Coulter-Nile (4-14) and new entrant Jimmy Neesham (3-12) held sway with the ball for Mumbai. The other major wicket-taker for Mumbai was Jasprit Bumrah (2-14).

In their response, Mumbai chased down the target with absolute ease. The man leading the chase was hitherto off-colour Ishan Kishan (50 n.o.: 25b, 5x4, 3x6) as he went beserk. He shared crucial stands with skipper Rohit Sharma and then Suryakumar Yadav. Later he completed the chase through a 38 run third wicket unbroken stand with Hardik Pandya. The chase was completed in 8.2 overs as Mumbai ended on 94 for two.

Earlier Mumbai made two changes bringing in shan for Quinton de Kock and Neesham for Krunal Pandya. Rajasthan also effected two changes as they brought in Shreyas Gopal for Mayank Markande, and Kuldip Yadav for Akash Singh.

Match Summary

Rajasthan Royals: 90-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-27 (Yashasvi Jaiswal-3.4 ov), 2-41 (Evin Lewis-5.3 ov), 3-41 (Sanju Samson-6.1 ov), 4-48 (Shivam Dube-8.3 ov), 5-50 (Glenn Phillips-9.4 ov), 6-71 (Rahul Tewatia-14.6 ov), 7-74 (Shreyas Gopal-15.6 ov), 8-76 (David Miller-16.4 ov), 9-82 (Chetan Sakariya-18.4 ov)

Mumbai Indians: 94-2 (8.2)
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Rohit Sharma-3.2 ov), 2-56 (Suryakumar Yadav-5.4 ov)

Result: Mumbai Indians won by eight wickets 


Playing XI
Rajasthan Royals: Evin Lewis, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (captain & wicket-keeper), Shivam Dube, Glenn Phillips, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Kuldip Yadav, Shreyas Gopal, Mustafizur Rahman, Chetan Sakariya

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Saurabh Tiwary, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Jimmy Neesham, Jayant Yadav, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult

Match Details
Toss: Mumbai Indians, elected to field
Venue: Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Michael Gough (On-field umpires); Jayaraman Madanagopal (TV Umpire); Krishnamachari Srinivasan (Reserve Umpire); Prakash Bhatt (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021