< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 CSK v SRH: Chennai Super Kings beat Sunrisers Hyderabad to go Top of the Table

Gaikwad’s brilliance with the bat wins Chennai their 5th match of the IPL 2021 season

Match Summary

Chennai Super Kings 173/3 (18.3 ov)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 171/3 (20 ov)

Chennai Super Kings won by 7 wickets


Match Highlights:

Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and elected to bat first. Their hero Jonny Bairstow lost his wicket early on to Sam Curran. David Warner found his form and scored 57 off 55 balls. His partnership of 106 runs for the 2nd wicket with Manish Pandey turned the game in favour of Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Pandey made a good looking 61 off 46 balls. In the death overs, Kane Williamson and Kedar Jadhav simply teed off the Chennai bowlers and took their team to a formidable total of 171 for 3 in 20 overs. Sam Curran was the most economical bowlers giving away just 30 runs in his spell and picking up a wicket.

FALL OF WICKETS - 22-1 (Jonny Bairstow, 3.2), 128-2 (David Warner, 17.1), 134-3 (Manish Pandey, 17.5)

Chasing 171, Faf du Plessis and Ruturaj Gaikwad got Chennai off to a flier as they amassed 129 runs for the 1st wicket partnership. Faf du Plessis was the aggressor in the powerplay overs while Ruturaj played patiently. However, after the powerplay overs, Ruturaj Gaikwad played some brilliant shots to keep the run rate in check.

Gaikwad was dismissed after scoring 75 off 44 balls. His knock was definitely a match winning innings for Chennai. Moeen Ali at number 3 also smashed Rashid Khan for a couple of boundaries before being dismissed by the same man. In the end, Ravindra Jadeja and Suresh Raina carefully approached the run chase and got their team home by 7 wickets with 9 balls to spare.

FALL OF WICKETS - 129-1 (Ruturaj Gaikwad, 12.6), 148-2 (Moeen Ali, 14.5), 148-3 (Faf du Plessis, 14.6)


Playing XIs

Chennai Super Kings - Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(c)(wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Shardul Thakur, Lungi Ngidi, Deepak Chahar

Sunrisers Hyderabad - David Warner(c), Jonny Bairstow(wk), Kane Williamson, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Vijay Shankar, Rashid Khan, Jagadeesha Suchith, Sandeep Sharm, Khaleel Ahmed, Siddarth Kaul


Match Details

Start Time: 19:30

Toss: Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and elected to bat first.

Venue: Arun Jaitley Stadium, New Delhi

© Cricket World