< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 DC v KKR: Delhi Capitals crush Knight Riders as Shaw muscles 82 in run chase

Prithvi Shaw storm blows away Kolkata Knight Rider’s bowling attack in near perfect run chase.

Match Summary

Delhi Capitals 156/3 (16.3 ov)

Kolkata Knight Riders 154/6 (20 ov)

Delhi Capitals won by 7 wickets


Match Highlights:

Delhi Capitals won the toss and elected to field first and Kolkata Knight Riders started off pretty well with their openers putting on a stand of 25 runs for the first wicket. Shubman Gill hit form at the right time and smashed 43 runs before being dismissed by Avesh Khan.

The middle order simply collapsed with Eoin Morgan and Sunil Narine both gone for a golden duck. Andre Russell showed patience at the beginning of his innings and then just carted the bowlers to all directions of the ground to finish unbeaten at 45 off 27 balls. His cameo helped Kolkata Knight Riders achieve a total of 154 for 6 wickets in 20 overs.

FALL OF WICKETS: 25-1 (Nitish Rana, 3.4), 69-2 (Rahul Tripathi, 9.3), 74-3 (Eoin Morgan, 10.2), 75-4 (Sunil Narine, 10.4), 82-5 (Shubman Gill, 12.6), 109-6 (Dinesh Karthik, 16.2)

Delhi Capitals were very aggressive right from the start as Prithvi Shaw took on Shivam Mavi in the first over and smashed him for 25 runs. Both the openers kept the momentum going in the powerplay overs and collected 67 runs from 6 overs.

Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw put on a stand of 132 runs for the 1st wicket. Dhawan was dismissed at 46 by Pat Cummins but it was all too late for Kolkata Knight Riders. Prithvi Shaw played a match winning knock of 82 in 41 deliveries and helped Delhi Capitals get over the line by 7 wickets. 

FALL OF WICKETS: 132-1 (Shikhar Dhawan, 13.5), 146-2 (Prithvi Shaw, 15.2), 150-3 (Rishabh Pant, 15.5)

Playing XIs

Kolkata Knight Riders: Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Eoin Morgan (c), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Varun CV, Pat Cummins, Shivam Mavi, Prasidh Krishna

Delhi Capitals:   Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Steven Smith, Rishabh Pant (c and wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav, Kagiso Rabada, Ishant Sharma, Avesh Khan


Match Details

Start Time: 19:30

Toss: Delhi Capitals won the toss and elected to field first.

Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

© Cricket World 2021